Bored Cook In The Kitchen

Tried and true recipes, new twists on old favorites, and new dishes to expand my family's palate.

Baked Potato Soup


On my quest to work through all the potatoes I now have, I’ve decided to do anything but serve mashed potatoes with them.  I love mashed potatoes, but I’m kinda done with them for a while after eating them through the holidays.

I love soup. I mean love soup to the point that I could eat it every day and never be sick of it!  This is why I make those huge pots of chicken broth every few months and then freeze it in gallon sized bags.  I just did this last month, and I’ve almost depleted my supply of  it. 

Up until now, I have posted recipes that have been either tried and true that I’ve made over the years, or new ones I have tweaked with that have worked well.  But, since life is never perfect, neither is every recipe.  This is one of my failures.  It wasn’t horrible.  But it was lacking.  And I’m not sure what it was lacking, but it was nothing exciting.  

I had some left over baked potatoes I had made and decided to just dice them up and throw them in a soup.  I’m not big on creamy soups.  Some I like, but I prefer a broth soup over a creamy one.  This may have worked better as a creamy soup.  In any event, this is how I made it.  We ate it.  It was OK, but I certainly wouldn’t write home about it.  Maybe someone out there has a better idea to revamp this and make it exciting.

BAKED POTATO SOUP:

  • 4 Medium Baked Potatoes with the skin removed
  • 1 Large Carrot, finely diced
  • 1 Shalot, finely diced
  • 1 Stalk of Celery, finely diced
  • 1 Tbsp. Unsalted Butter
  • 6 to 8 Cups Low-Sodium Chicken Broth
  • 1/2 teaspoon Celery Salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon Kosher Salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon Freshly Ground Black Pepper

Remove the skin from the baked potatoes and give them a rough chop.

In a medium-sized stock pot, set your burner to medium-high.  Throw in the butter, celery, carrot and shalots.  Saute until translucent.  Throw in the potatoes and give them a good stir. 

Pour in your chicken broth, and your dry spices and stir well. Bring the pot to a boil, and then turn the burner to simmer.  Cover and cook until the carrots and celery are soft and serve hot.

One response to “Baked Potato Soup

  1. your sister-in-law January 19, 2010 at 6:15 PM

    maybe for one taking some of the potatoes and processing to thicken the soup
    and maybe adding some roasted garlic since you guys love it (as i do)
    and some kind of an aromatic spice…maybe actually some curry
    and now that i think about it if you like Thai food split the chicken broth with some coconut milk(not sweetened version used for alcoholic drinks)
    just some ideas….i know you got to get rid of those potatoes ;>)

Leave a comment