Bored Cook In The Kitchen

Tried and true recipes, new twists on old favorites, and new dishes to expand my family's palate.

Cinnamon Vanilla Pancakes…for dinner


 

I had decided that one night this week I would make “Breakfast for Dinner”.  My kids love when I do this. 

As as is typical of my life, every night I planned on making this, I had to push it off for another night.  Last night was the night I finally got to do it. 

I had elaborate plans for my “Breakfast for Dinner” menu.  I was going to make a batch of my cheesy hash browns, some omelets, pancakes and french toast, bacon and sausage, and a fresh fruit bowl.

And then I was reminded of why I should never, ever, plan things because they never, ever pan out.

First was the notice that my husband would be working late and not to worry, he would grab something to eat.

Then came the call from my son that he and his friends were getting pizza so he wouldn’t be eating at home.

Great, I thought.  Why am I cooking a huge breakfast for me and two small kids?

But I was going to push ahead.  Do it anyway and say to heck with everyone.

Then both of my younger kids told me they just wanted pancakes and bacon. 

Fine!  But I was still planning on the cheesy hash browns, because I had my heart set on those. 

Then I got the phone call from 15-year-old son saying, “Can you pick me up?”

This was at 5:30 p.m. as I was getting ready to get started cooking.

“What?  You told me you were getting dropped off later.  Why am I coming out to pick you up now?”

Of course plans changed, and now my son needed to be picked up. Right now. Not later!

For the love of all goodness, is there ever a moment of peace?

Out I went to pick him up, and by the time we got home it was too late to start the hash browns.  At which time, my oldest also advised me that he was starving because he never ate.  Whatever.

So it was pancakes, bacon and fresh watermelon.  Not my original plan, but by that time I really could have cared less.

Did I mention hubby walked in the door an hour later.  AFTER there was no bacon left.  And only 2 pancakes left.

Hubby:  “What happened to all the bacon?”

Me: “Please, stop speaking.” 🙂

I can share with you my favorite pancakes though.  My kids plow through these when I make them.  They are thick yet light.  Perfect.

Cinnamon Vanilla Pancakes:

Adapted from Southern Living Magazine (Years ago, and can’t remember what issue)

Makes: 18 4″ pancakes

  • 2 Cups All Purpose Flour
  • 2 1/2 tsp. Baking Powder
  • 1 tsp. Baking Soda
  • 3/4 tsp. Salt
  • 2 Tbsp. Sugar
  • 2 Large Eggs, lightly beaten
  • 2 Cups Buttermilk
  • 1/4 Cup Canola Oil
  • 1 tsp. Vanilla Extract
  • 1 1/2 tsp. Cinnamon

Combine first 5 ingredients and stir well. 

Combine egg, buttermilk, oil, vanilla and cinnamon in a bowl and add the flour mixture stirring until well blended.

I use my electric skillet, preheated to 375.  Once hot, I add some butter and then pour the batter to the desired size of each pancake. 

Allow to cook on one side until bubbles form over the top and the bottom is a light brown.  Flip and cook until golden brown on the other side.

Serve hot with maple syrup.

 

Leave a comment