Bored Cook In The Kitchen

Tried and true recipes, new twists on old favorites, and new dishes to expand my family's palate.

Bernadette’s Texas Caviar


I don’t know the true origins of this dish as I’ve never researched it.  Did it originate in Texas or is that just a name for a dish similar in other areas, but called something different in each region?  I know I’ve had something similar when I was in Mexico, and something similar in my area, and I’ve seen it called everything from Bean Salsa, Bean Caviar, Bean Salad and, of course, Texas Caviar. 

Wherever the name originated from, I’m not concerned.  The only thing that concerns me is that it’s delicious.  Period.

I’ve seen it made with corn, celery, green bell pepper, tomatoes, and a number of other ingredients. 

This version is one friend’s of ours made recently and I just loved it.  If she had a blog I’d send you over to it, but she doesn’t so I can’t.  I did ask her for her recipe and I’ll share that with you today.  I’ve seen recipes for it made with bottled Italian dressing, but was intrigued when she told me she makes her own, which she cooks and than cools.  I think it’s this dressing that makes the difference in her dish.  I can eat it by the bowl, with some tortilla chips, on top of chicken or fish and any other way you can think of .

It’s simple and most definitely even better a day or two after you make it.  You can add to it whatever you like.  

Texas Caviar:

Ingredients:

  • 1 Can Black Beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 Can Black Eyed Peas, drained and rinsed
  • 1 Red Bell Pepper, chopped
  • 1 Red Onion, chopped
  • 1/3 Cup Olive Oil
  • 1/3 Cup Sugar
  • 1/3 Cup Apple Cider Vinegar

In a small pot, heat the sugar, vinegar and oil.  Bring to a rapid boil and remove from heat.  Allow to cool to room temperature.

In a large bowl add all remaining ingredients.  Pour the cooled vinegar mixture over the top and mix well.  Cover and refrigerate for at least several hours before you plan to serve it or overnight is even better.

Enjoy!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

5 responses to “Bernadette’s Texas Caviar

  1. Margo July 19, 2010 at 5:31 PM

    I like the name of this dish just as much as the recipe itself! The variety of colors is appealing too. This sounds like a nice cool dish to try this week while our temps are in the 100’s!

  2. boredcook July 19, 2010 at 8:19 PM

    It takes minutes to throw together and is so good. You can mix in whatever you like. Some cilantro and jalapeno would be nice. Whatever you put it, it’s completely addicting!

    Thanks for visiting, Margo.

  3. Brenda (a farmgirl's dabbles) July 28, 2010 at 8:37 AM

    I love the name “Texas Caviar”! I make a similar recipe called “Cowboy Salsa” that is much more green in appearance, using green bell pepper and celery. But it sounds very similar to yours. I will have to try your version now!

    • boredcook July 28, 2010 at 8:17 PM

      I like the name “Cowboy Salsa”! I’m sure it’s all the same dish, just with different names and different variations. Kind of like how different pasta sauce is from one person to the next. This stuff is addicting. Luckily it’s filled with things that are good for you!

Leave a Reply

