Bored Cook In The Kitchen

Tried and true recipes, new twists on old favorites, and new dishes to expand my family's palate.

Grilled Chicken Sandwich


Spring has finally sprung in New York.  Thank goodness!  It’s hard to believe that just a few short weeks ago this is what my deck looked like after a huge blizzard swept down on us.

There was my grill, buried under too much snow.  My grill without its cover on.  The cover that was buried under about a foot of snow by the time I had realized my husband never covered it.  Today, my grill is blindingly dazzling from the beating sun shining from it.  No snow in sight.  It’s a cloudless, sunny sky in the mid 60’s.  Let’s hope it lasts.  It felt great going grocery shopping yesterday in nothing but a t-shirt with no jacket.   I’m going to stop here because we’ve been shocked with snow even in April, so before I jinx myself I’ll just zip it and get on with the sandwich.

Because of the beautiful weather we are experiencing, we decided to grill outside yesterday.  For both lunch and dinner.  Lunch was a grilled chicken sandwich I threw together and we both loved it.  There are no measurements for this because really, you don’t need them.  Some things are better that way.

Grilled Chicken Sandwich:

  • Boneless Skinless Chicken Breasts
  • Ripe Avocado
  • Lettuce
  • Tomato
  • Mayonnaise
  • Seasoned Salt
  • Ground Black Pepper
  • Smoked Paprika
  • Cayenne Pepper
  • Fresh Lime Juice
  • Toasted Bread

I sprinkled the chicken breasts with all the dried spices and then grilled them at 300 degrees until the juices ran clear and they had a nice crispy crust on the outside.

I would have preferred a nice Portuguese Roll toasted, but I had none.  The most sturdy bread I had on hand were some English Muffins and they worked just great.  I toasted them up and spread them with a good amount of mayonnaise.

Cut up some fresh lettuce, slice some tomatoes nice and thin, and slice a few pieces of ripe avocado. 

Layer some lettuce, tomato, chicken and then some avocado on top of one side of the bun.  Sprinkle with some additional ground pepper and salt and squeeze on some fresh lime juice.  Top with the other half of the bun and enjoy.

You could also use a larger roll and leave the chicken breast whole, but I hate sandwiches that are too big and bulky to chow down on.  Slicing everything thinly really makes a difference and helps the flavors to blend together well.

The avocado and mayonnaise was a great contrast to the spice from the cayenne and the warmth of the grilled chicken.  Spicy, warm, crunchy, cool and fresh all at the same time. 

This was definitely “Spring” in my mouth yesterday!

Leave a Reply

