Bored Cook In The Kitchen

Tried and true recipes, new twists on old favorites, and new dishes to expand my family's palate.

Brown Sugar Bacon Meatloaf


Don’t be frightened of the meatloaf.  Why is it that people turn their noses up when you say “Meatloaf?”  Is it the loaf part of the title?  I guess describing meat in a loaf form really is not all that appetizing.  But if you can move past the meatloafs with the canned cream-of-whatever-soup mix, I bet you will find you really like it.  This recipe you will really love.  My family polishes it off, and if there ever is a few pieces leftover, they will eat it cold on a sandwich the next day.  (Or later that night after dinner was already eaten.)

I found this recipe a few years back while watching Food Network.  Don’t ask me who made it because I don’t remember.  But I do remember it was fantastic and have made it ever since.

My son has a friend who was here for dinner one night when I made this.  I think he ate half the meatloaf himself.  I kid you not!  Now everytime he sees me he asks me, “When are you going to make that meatloaf again?”  So sometimes when I make it I will make two and call him to tell him I’m sending one over.  And if I know he will be here for dinner when I make it, I still make two, and send him home with the half he didn’t eat at dinner.

Lots of step-by-step photos for this one, so I apologize ahead of time. 

Dice up your onion and garlic and saute it for a bit in the oil just until it is translucent.  Remove it from the burner and allow it too cool slightly.

In a large mixing bowl, dump in the ground meat, and the breadcrumbs.

In a small bowl, whisk together the eggs, thyme, mustard, hot sauce, salt, pepper, parsley (I used dried since I ran out of fresh), and the Worstershire sauce.  Then get a little person with little hands to help you mix it all together while you take a picture. 

Pour that into the ground meat mixture, adding the onions and garlic and mix all together until combined.

Line a rimmed baking sheet with foil and then place a piece of parchment over the top.  I hate scouring pans, and this is going to be a gooey burnt on mess to clean afterwards.  Trust me, you will thank me for the suggestion.

Turn the meat mixture out onto the baking sheet and form it into a loaf about 3-4″ in height.

In another small bowl, whisk together your brown sugar sauce.

Take half the sauce and brush it all over the top of the meat, covering it completely.  Reserve the other half of the sauce for later.

Take your bacon and lay it across the top of the meatloaf, overlapping it as you add each piece.  You want to cover the meatloaf completely with the bacon.

After you apply the bacon, tuck all the ends under so they don’t curl up while cooking. 

Place it in your hot oven on the middle rack and allow it to cook for 45 minutes.

Remove it from the oven, and brush the other half of the sauce all over the top, gently, trying not to disrupt the bacon slices on the top. 

Set the oven to broil and return the pan to the oven.  Now you want to stand RIGHT NEXT TO THE OVEN and watch this closely.  You want to get the bacon and the sauce crispy and browned, but if you walk away for even a minute you can go to burnt and horrible very quickly. 

Once the bacon is nice and crisp and the brown sugar glaze has carmelized nicely, remove the meat from the oven.  Slide it with a large spatula onto a cutting board and allow it to rest for a few minutes.

Slice carefully with a sharp knife and serve immediately.  It’s sweet and tangy delisciousness!

And here is why I lined my pan with foil AND parchment paper. 

No need to thank me for that piece of advice.  I know you appreciate it.

BROWN SUGAR BACON MEATLOAF:

Serves 8

  • 2 lbs. Lean Ground Beef
  • 1 Small Onion, Diced
  • 2 Cloves Garlic, Minced
  • 1 1/2 Cups Seasoned Bread Crumbs
  • 2 Large Eggs
  • 1 Tablespoon Canola Oil
  • 1 tsp. Dried Thyme
  • 1/4 Cup Chopped Fresh Parsley or 2 Tbsp. Dried
  • 4 Dashes of Hot Sauce
  • 1 tsp. Worstershire Sauce
  • 2 tsp. Dijon Mustard
  • 1/4 Cup Milk
  • 1/2 lb. Bacon
  • Salt and Freshly Ground Black Pepper to taste

Brown Sugar Glaze:

  • 3/4 Cup Ketchup
  • 3/4 Cup Brown Sugar
  • 2 Tbsp. Cider Vinegar
  • 2 tsp. Dijon Mustard

Set oven to 350 degrees.

In a small frying pan, heat the canola oil and throw in your onion and garlic.  Saute until just translucent.  Remove from heat and set to the side to cool.

In a large bowl add your ground meat and breadcrumbs.

In a smaller bowl add your eggs, thyme, mustard, salt, pepper, hot sauce, Worcestershire sauce, parsley and milk.  Whisk together well and dump this in with the ground meat and breadcrumbs.  Using your hands, mix the meat mixture up well until everything is combined.

In another small bowl, mix together the brown sugar glaze and set aside.

Line a shallow baking pan with foil and then add a piece of parchment paper over the foil.  Dump out the meat and form it into a loaf that is about 3 to 4 inches in height.

Brush the entire loaf with half of the brown sugar glaze, reserving the other half for later.

Take the 1/2 pound of bacon and begin layering each piece on the top of the loaf, covering it entirely.  Once it’s all covered, gently tuck the ends under the loaf to prevent the bacon from shrinking and curling up while it cooks.

Place the pan in the oven on the middle rack and check it after 45 minutes.  If it’s not done, return it to the oven and allow it to cook for an extra 10 to 12 minutes or until completely cooked.  If it’s done, remove it from the oven and brush the top carefully with the remaining half of the brown sugar glaze. 

Turn the oven to broil and place the pan back into the oven.  Watch it closely and remove it once the bacon has crisped and the brown sugar is bubbling.

Remove from oven and slide the meatloaf with a long spatula onto a cutting board.  Allow the meat to rest for about 10 minutes, and then slice with a sharp knife.

One response to “Brown Sugar Bacon Meatloaf

  1. http://julieangelos.com February 4, 2010 at 9:23 AM

    Great recipe Pamela. Yum. I wish I lived closer, I’d be there in a flash. I bet my boys will love this.

Leave a Reply

