Bored Cook In The Kitchen

Tried and true recipes, new twists on old favorites, and new dishes to expand my family's palate.

Sausage and Potatoes


 

Growing up, my parents made this dish often.  As a kid, I never appreciated it.  In fact I would roll my eyes when I asked what was for dinner and the response was “Sausage and Potatoes”.  As an adult, I appreciate this dish for what it truly is; delicious. 

Now I make this and my children roll their eyes when I tell them what’s for dinner.  See, it’s not a cheeseburger and fries so they can’t appreciate it.  I tell them, “Hey, there are people starving all over the world.  We are in a recession.  You are lucky you got the sausage in this dish!”

Then I have to continue with the infamous, ” Back in Grandma and Grandpa’s day, they had to walk twenty miles through the snow just to buy one sausage link.  Then they brought it home and had to split it between eighteen other people, while they took off their shoes with the holes in the soles…”

By now I’ve lost them and they are no longer listening.   It’s fun to do this though.  Don’t you remember your parents telling you when you were kids,

“You kids today don’t know how lucky you have it!”

So true, Dad.  So very, very true.

My mother told me her mother made this when she was growing up as an easy way to stretch a meal.  Times were tough, meat was expensive and not easy to fit into your budget.  You had to make the most with what you had.  Who knew that so many years later many of those money-saving-meals mothers made to stretch their meat, and their dollar, would turn out to be completely delicious comfort foods.

It’s simple, it’s flavorful, and it’s an entire meal in one big dish. 

SAUSAGE AND POTATOES:

  • 8 – 10 Sweet (or Hot) Italian Sausage Links
  • 4 Large Russet Potatoes
  • 1 Large Onion
  • 3 Tablespoons Olive Oil
  • 1/2 Tablespoon Italian Seasoning Blend (Salt Free)
  • 1/2 Teaspoon Garlic Powder
  • 1/2 Teaspoon Kosher Salt
  • 1/2 Teaspoon Black Pepper

Heat oven to 350 degrees.

Wash potatoes and leave the skins on.  Cut into large, equal sized chunks, and place them in a large mixing bowl.  Slice the onion thickly, separate and place them in the bowl as well. 

Add all of your dry ingredients, along with the olive oil, and give it a good mixing to evenly distribute everything together.

Cut each sausage link into thirds and place in the bowl with the potatoes and onions.  From here, I mix this all together with my hands.  (Please make sure they are clean first, cause if they aren’t that would be really gross!)  Gently mix the sausage into the potatoe and onion mixture trying not to break apart the sausage as you do this.

Dump this all into a 13 x 9 baking dish and cover with aluminum foil. 

Place in the oven and allow this to cook for a minimum of one hour.  After an hour turn the oven up to 400 degrees, remove the foil and place back in the oven until the sausage is nicely brown, stirring every few minutes so all the sausage gets some equal browning space.   Make sure you watch this closely after returning to the oven so your potatoes and sausage don’t burn.

This is perfect:

I serve this with either a vegetable or tossed salad on the side.  It’s a complete meal in itself and super easy to make on a busy day.

The potatoes come out soft and they absorb all that delicious flavor from the sausage and the onions they simmered away with.  And the sausage.  Nice and browned and full of flavor.  Try this!

11 responses to “Sausage and Potatoes

  1. You make me smile. December 11, 2009 at 2:47 PM

    That looks delicious. You got the two thumbs up from my Italian husband. I’m coming over for dinner. You’re really inspiring me. Thanks.

  2. boredcook December 11, 2009 at 7:33 PM

    It is delicious. It’s one of my most favorite meals. I made this the other night and it was gone by the next day.

    So when are you going to make this for your husband? You defenitely have all the ingredients for this one where you live. Italy might not have food coloring to make those Christmas cookies with, but they sure as heck have some good Italian sausage, potatoes and olive oil. No excuses girl. Start cooking.

  3. cavemancooking December 12, 2009 at 2:58 PM

    Sounds like the perfect cold weather dish! Gotta love “comfort food” when the chill sets in.

  4. Anna B. December 13, 2009 at 1:23 PM

    Mmmmmmmmmmm! Looks wonderful enough for me to go out in the cold to the grocery store to grab me some sausage and taters!

    Stumbled across your blog via another where you commented…glad I did!!

  5. Pingback: Sausage and Potatoes « Eating My Way Through The Blogosphere

  6. Pingback: Sausage and Potatoes…again « Bored Cook In The Kitchen

  7. Nic June 13, 2010 at 9:12 PM

    It’s not cold weather season, but this made a delightful dinner none-the-less. After puttering around in the yard all day, this unfussy dish was perfect. We had a glass of malbec, hunks of crusty bread and salad. Great meal!

  8. Pingback: Sausage & Chicken Bake « Bored Cook In The Kitchen

  9. Mrs.Brittney Easton September 23, 2014 at 6:13 PM

    i am making this dish right now and it smells amazing I’m sure it’ll taste as good as it smells

Leave a Reply

