Bored Cook In The Kitchen

Tried and true recipes, new twists on old favorites, and new dishes to expand my family's palate.

Spinach Lasagna Roll-Ups


It’s the first Friday of Lent, and if you are a Catholic you know meat is a thing of the past…at least for the next several Fridays.  I always get nervous when Lent comes around because my husband is a meat eater and then I worry how limited my choices will be for dinner.  The thing is, my husband and all of my kids are big on fish and other seafood so there is always that.  And, most importantly, there are so many other things to make that don’t need meat in them.  So why do I feel stumped for dinner every Friday during Lent and end up ordering pizza?  I have no answer.

This Friday I had an answer though.  Spinach Lasagna Roll-Ups.    I had a recipe for these several years back and loved them when I first made them.  Of course, I lost the recipe.  I thought I had remembered it enough to duplicate it, but I still feel like something was missing.  As odd as it may sound, I could SWEAR the original recipe had diced water chestnuts in it.  In lasagna you ask?  I know, it sounds weird, but it added a crisp little bite to the dish without messing with the flavor.  But I don’t think that was all that I was missing when I made these.  Something and I can’t place it.  And I don’t think it was a spice. 

In any event, this is the recipe from what I could remember from it, and they were good!  I didn’t do the water chestnuts because I wasn’t sure about them, and more importantly, I didn’t have any.  They were fun to make and filling to eat.  

A few pictures for you to see how they look when you are rolling them

 

Here they are all rolled up and fit into the baking dish before I added the sauce:

Oh, and when  the kids ask, “Mom.  What is the green stuff?”  Just tell them it’s basil.  For some reason basil is less frightening than spinach.   Don’t be afraid to lie to your kids, folks.  It’s okay to do it sometimes.   Especially when it makes life more convenient for you.

Spinach Lasagna Roll-Ups:

Serves 8

  • 1 Lb. Lasagna Noodles
  • 1 10 oz. Package Frozen Chopped Spinach Defrosted
  • 16 oz. Ricotta Cheese
  • 2 Cups Shredded Mozzarella Cheese
  • 2 Tbsp. Grated Parmesan Cheese
  • 1 tsp. Kosher Salt
  • 1/2 tsp. Ground Black Pepper
  • 4 Cups Pasta Sauce

In a large stock pot, bring water and  some salt to a boil for the lasagna noodles.

Take spinach and squeeze out all the liquid.  Set to the side.

In a large bowl, add the ricotta, parmesan, 1 1/2 cups of the shredded mozzarella, salt, pepper, and spinach and stir well.  Set to the side.

Boil the lasagna noodles for no more than 6 to 7 minutes.  You want them to be slightly firmer than al dente since you will be baking this once you roll them up. 

In a 13″ x 9″ baking dish, place about 1 cup of sauce on the bottom and spread to evenly coat. 

Drain the lasagna noodles in a colander and run them through with some cool water to stop the cooking process along with making them easier to work with. 

Lay out a few lasagna noodles and add about 2 tablespoons of the cheese/spinach filling and spread out along each noodle.  Then roll up and place seam side down in the backing dish.  The 1 lb. box of noodles usually comes with about 20 noodles, and I always end up with just enough filling to fill 19 of them.  Drives me nuts, but now matter what I do, that’s how it works out.

Once you have them all stacked up evenly in the dish, cover them with about 1 1/2 cups of sauce and cover with foil.  Bake in a 350 oven for about 40 minutes.  After the 40 minutes, remove the foil, sprinkle with the 1/2 cup of reserved shredded mozzarella cheese and pop back in the oven for another 10 to 15 minutes.

Remove from oven, allow to set for a couple of minutes and serve with some extra grated parmesan cheese.

Use the extra sauce you had leftover to top each serving with.

14 responses to “Spinach Lasagna Roll-Ups

  1. myadventurecooking February 19, 2010 at 10:49 PM

    These look great. A nice variation on the traditional lasagna. Maybe these won’t fail like my attempt at regular lasagna. And spinach, I used to hate spinach when I was a kid. Then I liked creamy spinach, then regular spinach. I think it is a requirement of a kid to not like spinach despite attempts at cartoon pressure in the past. Too bad, because I think the mayo clinic considers it a super food.

    • boredcook February 20, 2010 at 9:53 AM

      I hated spinach as a kid too, so I can’t really blame them. Then again, spinach as a kid was never in lasagna. It was in a bowl having been boiled. I still don’t like spinach that way, but I love a spinach salad, or having it made this way.

      I don’t like making regular lasagna. My husband does and he does a good job at it. This is so much easier to me. Also, you could make this with the traditional lasagna filling and omit the spinach all together. Just roll it up instead of laying it out in the pan.

      Thanks for visiting.

  2. Anna B February 20, 2010 at 11:28 AM

    YUM! These look great!! I’ve bookmarked for future makin’!!

  3. your sister-in-law February 20, 2010 at 11:45 AM

    In a large stock pot, bring water and SOIL to a boil for the lasagna noodles.

    Great typo!

    Had me LOLOLOL!

    These look great, gonna try them; could use as a side for steaks, too!

  4. Souffle Bombay March 1, 2010 at 9:02 PM

    Love these!!! I in Lent mode as well, so this comes at a good time – I will try this one!! My Mom occasionally made Florintine Lasagne growing up – similar to this but I love the twist!!

    Thanks!

    • boredcook March 3, 2010 at 7:34 AM

      Colleen do you get the same way as me when Lent rolls around? You know where normally you could come up with 101 different meatless foods to make for dinner, but when you know it’s Friday and you can’t have meat you get nervous at what to cook? Or is that just me?? LOL

      BTW, love the salad cups recipe you posted. I’m trying those with the kids! Can’t wait for you QVC debut either! Maybe I’ll be a call-in! LOL

  5. Sanjana @ K0 Rasoi March 15, 2010 at 10:24 PM

    This is so cute… and not to mention clever! 🙂 I’m a kid at heart so I know i’m gonna enjoy making these! Thanks for the recipe!

  6. boredcook March 16, 2010 at 6:12 AM

    Thanks for visiting Sanjana. Hope you enjoy them.

  7. sheila @ elements August 4, 2010 at 3:44 PM

    What a great idea! I’ll definitely try this! 🙂

  8. kim (Foodin New England) December 27, 2010 at 6:50 PM

    These look awesome!! I better not let hubby see … he’ll slobber everywhere!

  9. Kelly-Ann Thomas November 19, 2012 at 4:32 PM

    what a great meal.

Leave a comment