Bored Cook In The Kitchen

Tried and true recipes, new twists on old favorites, and new dishes to expand my family's palate.

Warm Apple Crisp


I can’t say I have ever met a dessert I haven’t liked, but I can say this is one dessert I absolutely love! 

One of my most favorite cookbooks is The Ultimate Southern Living Cookbook.  I have almost broken the binding on the book we have used it so much.  It’s filled with little yellow post it notes on some of our favorite recipes from the inside of their collection.  And I can tell you honestly that I have never made a recipe from this cookbook that wasn’t great.  I always swear I’m going to cook my way through that book.

This recipe I’m sharing today is not really out of their book.  They didn’t have a recipe for Apple Crisp, but they did have one for Rhubarb Crumble.  And I’ve made it and loved it.  I’ve used the same principles to adapt that recipe to this Apple Crisp, and it didn’t disappoint!

Warm Apple Crisp

  • 5 – 6 Large Baking Apples, peeled, cored and cut
  • 3/4 Cup White Sugar
  • 2 tsp. Lemon Juice
  • 1/4 tsp. Vanilla Extract *optional
  • 1 Cup Oats (I used Quick Cooking)
  • 2/3 Cup Packed Dark Brown Sugar
  • 1/2 tsp. Ground Cinnamon
  • 1/3 Cup All Purpose Flour
  • 1/3 Cup Butter

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

In a large mixing bowl combine the flour, brown sugar, cinnamon and the oats.  Stir well until combined.  Add the butter and cut in until the mixture becomes crumbly.  Set to the side.

Wash and peel the apples.  Cut them into about 1″ size chunks.  Add to a separate mixing bowl.  Add the lemon juice and vanilla and stir until well combined.  Add the sugar and mix well.

Grease an 8″ x 8″ baking pan.  Add the apples to the pan and spread out evenly.  Top with the crumb mixture and spread evenly to cover the entire top of the apples.  Bake on the middle rack for 40 to 45 minutes. 

Once done, remove from the oven and allow the crisp to sit for about 10 to 15 minutes so it sets a little.  Serve warm with some ice cream on the side.  A little swizzle of Caramel on the top isn’t bad either.

**Note:  The pan I baked this in was a round Corning Ware dish that was about 1″ x 10 inches. 

Enjoy!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

13 responses to “Warm Apple Crisp

  1. polwig October 15, 2010 at 5:21 PM

    This looks so good… I still have lots of apples left from apple picking but waiting for my aunt to send me her apple pie recipe… I want your picture post… pleeeeeaaassseee

  2. Julie ~ jbulie's blog October 16, 2010 at 7:50 AM

    God Bless you Pam for existing.

    Yum this looks so delicious and you cut out years of studying for me. Plus, I don’t think I own a cookbook. No sticky notes there!

    I think this one I’m going to HAVE to try. It looks great. Thank you.

    Julie

  3. Caveman Cooking October 19, 2010 at 3:50 AM

    Hey there!
    I know this is off topic, but I just tagged you in a “pass it on” post where you answer 8 questions about yourself. I hope that you’ll play along by going here: Tag! You’re Eight!!.
    BTW, this looks incredible, Pam!

  4. Lana @ Never Enough Thyme November 4, 2010 at 4:20 PM

    Warm fruit desserts are my favorite. With a scoop of ice cream, of course! Love a good cobbler or crisp any time of the year, but they seem especially appropriate for Fall, don’t they?

  5. Jonita November 25, 2010 at 7:44 PM

    This looks way too delcious- I’m making it this weekend for company. Thanks, and I’m glad that I found your blog.

  6. Audrey September 21, 2013 at 10:10 PM

    I just made this and it is delicious but the measurement for the brown sugar flour and oats seemed to little. It didn’t look like yours. I barely had enough to cover the top. Next time I will double the measurement because that’s the best part. Good dessert. The family enjoyed it. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

