Bored Cook In The Kitchen

Tried and true recipes, new twists on old favorites, and new dishes to expand my family's palate.

Shrimp Scampi – Super Easy


This past Christmas, my sister-in-law gave me a subscription to Cuisine at Home.  I fell in love with this magazine immediately because it’s nothing but recipes, they are simple and very often fast, and they show detailed step-by-step photos for each and every recipe. 

The last issue had a ton of great recipes in it, and this is just one of them.  I have to tell you that this is by far one of the fastest and simplest recipes I have made in a very long time.  A perfect choice if you are short on time but want something delicious.

I doubled the recipe since the original version was for two instead of the four I was going to be feeding that night.  I also made the recipe in one large casserole dish vs. the two small individual dishes the recipe called for.  Their presentation was more aesthetically appealing, but I was going for feeding a family and making something that tasted great. 

If you buy the shrimp that are already deveined and peeled you can save a ton of time as well. 

The official name of this recipe is shown below.  But to me, it’s just Shrimp Scampi – Super Easy!

Broiled Greek Scampi with Parmesan Crust:

Serves 2

Recipe from Cuisine at Home April 2010 issue

  • 1/2 Stick Unsalted Butter
  • 1 Tbsp. Fresh Lemon Juice
  • 1 Tbsp. Minced Garlic
  • 1/4 tsp. Dried Dill
  • Salt and Black Pepper to taste
  • 2 Tbsp. Fresh Bread Crumbs (*See note)
  • 1 Tbsp. Shredded Parmesan
  • 1/2 tsp. Dried Oregano
  • 1/4 tsp. Paprika
  • 10-12 Extra Large Shrimp, peeled, tails left on and deveined, about 8 oz.

Preheat broiler with oven rack 6-8 inches from the heating element.

Melt butter in a saucepan over medium heat.  Stir in lemon juice, garlic, dill, salt, and pepper.  Let stand-off heat to steep.

Combine bread crumbs, Parmesan, oregano and paprika in a small bowl; set aside.

Coast 2 6 oz. casserole dishes with nonstick spray and place on a baking sheet.  Arrange shrimp evenly in each dish.  Divide butter mixture evenly between dishes and top with bread crumb mixture.

Broil until shrimp are cooked and bread crumbs are golden brown, about 5 to 7 minutes.  Let cook 1 minute before serving.

I served this with some rice, but next time I plan on doubling the butter sauce and serving it over some linguine instead.

Some changes I made; I didn’t add the oregano because I’m not a big lover of oregano.  It’s a little over powering for my taste.  I also did not use fresh breadcrumbs.  I used 1/2 seasoned breadcrumbs and half Panco and I plan to use that the next time I make it as well.  It was a nice combination.

This is definitely a keeper.  Enjoy!

One response to “Shrimp Scampi – Super Easy

  1. Jane July 10, 2010 at 3:15 PM

    Oh my goodness! This looks so good! Thanks for adding your recipes to my seafood linky! 🙂

Leave a Reply

