Bored Cook In The Kitchen

Tried and true recipes, new twists on old favorites, and new dishes to expand my family's palate.

Easy Cheese Quesadillas


My children love Cheese Quesadillas.  They love them so much they eat them quicker than I can make them.  By the time I’m throwing the next one in the pan, the first one has already been scarfed down.

Since my pantry is a little bare now, and since I had all the ingredients to make these little delicious noshes, this was on the menu for lunch today.  Trust me when I tell you there were no complaints about that.

This is yet another recipe you can tweak to suit your tastes.  I used shredded cheddar cheese today, but some Monterey jack or a combination of the two ain’t half bad either!  Serve them up with some Pico De Gallo, sour cream, guacamole or some spicy salsa.  Sometimes my kids enjoy them with some taco sauce only.  

Since I’ve lived on a never-ending-supply of Pico De Gallo all summer, and since my children plow through every bowl of it I make, this is what I served it with for lunch with some sour cream on the side.  Perfect!  (Although, if I had some fresh guacamole that would have been even better!)

I cook these up very quickly on the stove in my cast iron pan, and to make it even quicker, instead of using butter, I just use some butter flavored cooking spray.  Works perfectly every time.  If that grosses you out, go ahead and use butter.  Whatever works for you.

Easy Cheese Quesadillas:

  • Flour Tortillas (You can use the taco size for a smaller quesadillas or the buritto size for a larger one)
  • Shredded Cheddar Cheese, Monterey Jack, or both
  • Butter or Butter Flavored Cooking Spray
  • Pico De Gall, Guacamole, Sour Cream, Taco Sauce, Salsa, etc. to top them with.

Begin by heating up your cast iron pan to medium high.  I used butter flavored cooking spray, which I spray into the bottom of the pan.

Lay a tortilla in the pan, cover with some cheese, and top with another tortilla.  Spray the top of that tortilla with cooking spray.

Watch closely because they will burn very quickly if you don’t.  Let the bottom get golden and toasty, then flip and do the same for the other side.

Once done, remove to a cutting board and using a pizza cutter, slice in four pieces.  Serve immediately with  your choice of toppings.

Enjoy!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

One response to “Easy Cheese Quesadillas

  1. Lela Meksayo March 6, 2013 at 6:16 PM

    Is there anyway to Pin these recipes to my board on Pinterest? I don’t see the Icon anywhere.

Leave a Reply

