Bored Cook In The Kitchen

Tried and true recipes, new twists on old favorites, and new dishes to expand my family's palate.

Roasted Chicken With Vegetables


I love making a roasted chicken, and I always try to change it up and do something different with it when I roast one. 

This version is one I make when I’m pressed for time because it’s basically just a one pot meal.   A few years back I saw Paula Deen on Food Network where she took a trip to France.  Part of the episode showed her walking through the outdoor food markets where she visited a stand that was making rotisserie chickens.  They had these racks of chickens spinning on the rotisserie and underneath the chickens, layered evenly on the bottom of the rotisserie, were potatoes.  The potatoes cooked in the drippings from the chickens spinning above them.  How good did that sound?   Since I don’t have a commercial size rotisserie, this was the closest I could come to recreating what looked like a mouth-watering dish. 

This chicken I roasted was over 7 pounds and it was the smallest roaster I could find at the store that day.  I normally like a 3 to 4 pound chicken, but I didn’t have that choice.  It also took longer than I expected to cook so dinner was a little late to the table on a night when I didn’t really have that much time to spare. 

But, that being said, it was a very juicy chicken and ended up being worth the extra roasting time.  I’ll give you a guideline recipe to follow, but feel free to add whatever spices or vegetables you and your family prefer, along with adjusting your cooking time based on the size of your bird.

ROASTED CHICKEN WITH VEGETABLES:

  • 1 Roasting Chicken
  • 5 or 6 Red Potatoes, washed and quartered
  • 4 Carrots, peeled and cut
  • 2 or 3 Onions, quartered
  • 1 Whole Garlic Head
  • Fresh Rosemary, chopped fine *optional
  • 1 Sprig Fresh Sage, chopped fine *optional

The following dry spices/herbs use at your own discretion and sprinkle on top of the bird and then rubbed in before baking.

  • Smoked or Regular Paprika
  • Dried Marjoram
  • Dried Thyme
  • Salt and Pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Wash out chicken, pat dry and place on a plate.  Rub on the dried herbs/spices and set to the side.

Begin cutting the potatoes, onions and carrots by quartering them.  Break apart the head of garlic leaving each clove in it’s skin.  Place the potatoes, onions, carrots and garlic in the bottom of a large roasting pan and season with salt and pepper to taste.  Add the chopped rosemary and sage and mix together.

Place the chicken on top of the vegetables and place on the middle rack of your oven. 

Roast until the chicken is done.  Remove from the oven, place the chicken on a cutting board and cover to keep warm. Allow the chicken to sit for a few minutes to lock in all the juices. 

Remove the roasted vegetables to a serving platter with a slotted spoon.  Carve up your chicken and serve.

Notes:  Because of the huge size of the chicken I used I ended up beginning the cooking process by covering it with aluminum foil for the first hour of roasting so I wouldn’t burn the chicken or the vegetables with the increased cooking time .  My chicken took a total of 2 1/2 hours to cook completely.  After the first hour of cooking I removed the aluminum foil and allowed it to continue cooking until done, allowing the skin to crisp up and brown.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

8 responses to “Roasted Chicken With Vegetables

  1. Julie ~ jbulie's blog October 14, 2010 at 9:03 AM

    This looks delicious Pam. We have cooked chickens from the supermarket that I like to buy but I like the idea you presented about having the drippings over the vegetables. How delicious is that? I think tonight we are going to have spaghetti with meat sauce. It’s easy and feeds the whole family. Luckily my mother in law makes a big batch and jars it for me. I’d be lost. Have you shared a ragu recipe? If so, can you send me a link?

    Thanks
    Julie

  2. shawnsplate October 14, 2010 at 2:28 PM

    Your chicken looks so good! We saw that Paula Deen Paris episode too…She was too cute about those chickens, potatoes and butter!

    • boredcook October 15, 2010 at 2:49 PM

      I loved that episode! Especially with the chicken guy only speaking French, Paula not understanding him and thinking he was talking about her breasts. She cracks me up.

  3. Kelly Lester October 16, 2010 at 9:34 PM

    I buy the already cooked roasted chicken at Costco and always feel guilty because I know I could make it myself. I need to try your recipe since I’m all about quick and easy and getting those vegetables in wherever possible! Looks yummy!

  4. Foodin New England November 8, 2010 at 11:36 AM

    We love roasted chicken, i love your photos 🙂

  5. Video Recipes December 8, 2010 at 6:45 PM

    I can’t wait to try it out.

Leave a Reply

