Bored Cook In The Kitchen

Tried and true recipes, new twists on old favorites, and new dishes to expand my family's palate.

Technology – Even God Uses It!


Not far from where I was today there is a Dominican Convent of nuns.  I had all three of my children in the car, and was dropping my oldest off at his friend’s house.

On the way back, having only my three and seven-year old in the car with me, I swung by the grocery store to pick up a few things.  After getting back in the car I saw a little tiny nun walking across the parking lot.  She looked to be in her mid-sixties.   She reached her car and just before she opened the door, she pulled a cell phone out of her coat pocket and put it up to her ear. 

“Are you kidding me?” I said out loud.

“What?” my son asked.

“That nun just whipped a cell phone out and is talking on it!” 

“So?” my son asked.

“Well…who could she be talking to??”

“I don’t know, Mom” he said sounding bored. “Maybe she’s calling God.”

With that I burst out laughing.  For one it was a good answer.  And also, do you think God has a cell phone?  If He does, do you think He is on Verizon or Nextel?  Does He use Direct Connect? Voicemail?  Should I put Him in my top 10?

I know I probably sound like a moron, and there really is no evidence to contradict that.  But, am I the only one that finds it funny, and a bit odd, that even nuns are using cell phones?  What’s next, iPods?   The whole scene just struck me funny!

When you think of modern technology, you don’t necessarily think of nuns, or other clergy members being in “the know”.  Know what I mean?   Hey, more power to her.  It just made me laugh. 

These are the thoughts that invade my mind daily.  I need somewhere to purge them.  This is all I got!

4 responses to “Technology – Even God Uses It!

  1. cavemancooking January 16, 2010 at 3:28 AM

    Your son’s comment killed me! 😆 If anyone had God’s cell number, it would likely be a nun, don’t you think?!? 😉 My question would be what were they talking about???

  2. Souffle Bombay January 16, 2010 at 12:02 PM

    Great story!! When the kids and I go to Dutch wonderland – they have a ton of Mennonite visitors that come from NY as well as som Amish.
    On a 95 degree day the Mennonite men and women are in slacks, skirts down to the ground, long sleves (and the wonen usuall have a sweater over top as well)…very strict stuff. BUT, the men have cell phones, big chunky shiny watches and the women have long dangly earrings….so very strange!

    • Will March 11, 2014 at 5:58 PM

      Can I just say what a reduction to secarh out someone who truly is aware of what they’re speaking about on the net. You definitely know methods to convey an issue to mild and make it significant. Extra folks must learn this and perceive this side of the story. I cant imagine youre no more in style because you positively have the treat.

  3. your sister-in-law January 19, 2010 at 6:09 PM

    only dean could come up with that….maybe he knows that song “what if God was one of us”….he definitely would be connected, isn’t everyone ;<)

Leave a Reply

