Bored Cook In The Kitchen

Tried and true recipes, new twists on old favorites, and new dishes to expand my family's palate.

Mega Chocolate Cake


That’s not the official name of this cake, but it’s the name I have given it.  Then again, I’ve changed the original recipe by almost half of what it was, that it’s the name that fits it best.  If you are like me, and live and breathe for chocolate, this is the cake for you.  It’s deep, rich, chocolatey, and moist.  Not to mention, super easy to make. 

I adapted this recipe from a book I bought at my son’s school last year during their book fair.   I made it the way the recipe called for, but believe it or not, found that the amount of chocolate chips they added were a bit much.  So I decreased it, and added a few different twists of my own.

Do you get nervous when you know you have to pull a cake out of the oven, cool it and then turn it out to a cake dish?  I hate that moment.  Drives me crazy.  Especially when you use a Bundt cake pan and there will be no hiding the imperfections if it comes out wrong.  Or, doesn’t come out at all!

Taking a deep breath:

Holding it in…

Letting it out…

Breathing again!  Perfect!

Here is my version:

Mega Chocolate Cake:

  • 1 Box Chocolate Cake Mix (I used Betty Crocker Dark Chocolate)
  • 1 Box Instant Chocolate Pudding Mix
  • 3 Tbsp. Dutch Cocoa
  • 2 Eggs
  • 2 Tbsp. Vegetable Oil
  • 1 3/4 Milk
  • 1 Cup Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips
  • 1 Cup Chopped Pecans
  • 1 tsp. Almond Extract

Heat the oven to 350 degrees.

In a large bowl, mix together the cake mix, pudding mix, cocoa, eggs, milk, vegetable oil and almond extract.  Mix on low-speed for two minutes, or until completely blended, scraping down the sides as you go.

Once the batter is completely mixed, stir in the chocolate chips and the pecans.

Grease a Bundt cake pan well, and pour in the batter.  Bake for 50 to 60 minutes.  Check the cake after the first 45 minutes to see if it is done.  Once done, remove from the oven and allow to cool for 15 minutes before turning out to your cake dish.

Sprinkle with confectionary sugar and get your self a huge cup of coffee.  Then sit and get ready for a huge chocolate experience.  Delish!

4 responses to “Mega Chocolate Cake

  1. cavemancooking January 14, 2010 at 3:34 AM

    Pam, you aren’t doing a thing to help with my already shaky NY resolutions! 😉 This looks phenomenal!!

  2. your sister-in-law January 14, 2010 at 6:02 PM

    looks great
    too bad i no longer bake and rely on everyone else in my world to do so…
    maybe, just maybe, I will try this for an occassion i am invited to…

Leave a Reply

