Bored Cook In The Kitchen

Tried and true recipes, new twists on old favorites, and new dishes to expand my family's palate.

Ranch Chicken


I’ve looked at Pioneer Woman’s Ranch Style Chicken for months, and finally decided it was time to try it.

Chicken breast, honey mustard marinade, bacon and cheddar cheese.  These are not bad things! 

This was quick and easy to throw together and my family enjoyed it.  I’ll give you the link here for the recipe that I followed, but the recipe I’m going to provide below are the changes I will use for next time.

Keep in mind, the modified recipe I’m providing is not the way I made this, but I can’t see that it would affect the outcome of the dish.  The reason I’m looking into modifying the original recipe is for the fat content. 

The marinade is fat-free.  But the way you make this and what you add to it is anything but fat-free.  There is no getting away from the bacon and cheddar cheese, but there is a way to alter the fat other than that.  The original recipe calls for browning the meat in a mixture of bacon grease and canola oil.  I couldn’t fathom the idea of adding more oil to a pan I had just fried bacon in, so I didn’t add the canola oil at all. 

But I think allowing the chicken to marinade then grilling them is a better option.  Still won’t make this meal exactly a waist slimming chicken breast, but it will get rid of some of that grease you are browning the chicken in.

I also modified the honey Dijon marinade.  The original recipe called for a half cup of honey and a half cup of Dijon mustard.  That’s how I prepared it, but next time I plan to cut the honey down to 1/4 cup.  And let me say, if you love honey Dijon, you will love this marinade.  I can see just using this marinade on the chicken alone and still having a delicious chicken breast sliced over a salad. Something I’m planning for the future.

Ranch Style Chicken:

Adapted from The Pioneer Woman

Serves: 6

  • 6 Boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • 6 Slices bacon, cut in half and fried crisp
  • 1 Cup Shredded Cheddar Cheese
  • 1/2 Cup Dijon Mustard
  • 1/4 Cup Honey
  • 1/2 tsp. Ground Black Pepper
  • 1/4 tsp. Paprika
  • 1/2 Lemon, juiced

*Note:  I didn’t forget to list the salt.  I left it out and you won’t miss it.  Between the marinade, the cheese and the bacon, there is plenty of salt to flavor this dish.

Begin by pounding out each chicken breast between two pieces of wax paper.  Set to the side.

In a large bowl, combine the honey, mustard, pepper, paprika and lemon juice.  Stir well to combine.

Place the chicken in the bowl and make sure it’s evenly coated.  Cover and refrigerate.  I let this marinade for about 3 to 4 hours, but even overnight would be great.

Fry the bacon until crisp and set to the side.

Either brush on or spray down your grill with non stick grill spray or canola oil.  Heat grill to about 300.

Once the grill is heated, remove chicken from the marinade and place on the grill.  Discard the remaining marinade.

Grill chicken until completely done.   Turn off grill, top the chicken with 2 pieces of bacon and some cheddar cheese.  Close the top of the grill and allow the cheese to melt.

Serve immediately.

One response to “Ranch Chicken

  1. Lillian Russo (Lilliancooks) July 20, 2010 at 9:09 AM

    This looks and sounds absolutely perfect!

    All your recipes and photos look amazing! Your photos are so bright and sharp! I love your web design too! Nice job! =)

Leave a Reply

