Bored Cook In The Kitchen

Tried and true recipes, new twists on old favorites, and new dishes to expand my family's palate.

Sicilian Pot Roast


They had rump roast on sale last week and I picked one up undecided what I wanted to do with it.  While I was searching through some recipes over at Tasty Kitchen, I came across one that had received all positive reviews and looked delicious, so I gave it a try.

It’s different than the typical pot roast I make with potatoes, carrots and onion.  I was looking for something different so this worked out perfectly.

The tomato and garlic really does something different to this dish in a very good way.  The meat was fork tender and the sauce was tangy and filled with garlic.  I added some thyme and rosemary to the dish, which the original recipe did not call for, but it turned out wonderfully.  Other than that, I kept the recipe the same way.

Here is the link to the recipe Sicilian-Style Pot Roast if you want to give this a try.  I highly recommend it!

I served this with some Roasted Potatoes
and asparagus.  It was a perfect Sunday dinner.

Enjoy!

3 responses to “Sicilian Pot Roast

  1. Shawn April 5, 2011 at 9:25 AM

    I’m definitely trying this…Yours looks delish! Thanks for thyme & rosemary hint.

  2. boredcook April 6, 2011 at 9:02 AM

    Thanks, Shawn.

    The next time I make it I think I’m going to try it with some fire roasted tomatoes. Hope you enjoy it!

    Pam

  3. Maris (In Good Taste) April 10, 2011 at 6:46 PM

    Pot roast is one of my favorite meals and I am happy to have a new recipe to try.

Leave a Reply

