Bored Cook In The Kitchen

Tried and true recipes, new twists on old favorites, and new dishes to expand my family's palate.

Beef Barley Soup


Do you love soup as much as I do?  I could eat soup three times a day, everyday for a month and never be sick of it.

My husband has another opinion.  He likes soup, but for him it’s a lunch item accompanied by a sandwich.  For me, it’s a meal.  For my children it means grilled cheese, because soup for dinner has to be shared with grilled cheese sandwiches or they won’t eat it.  My family is fickle and they make me crazy sometimes.

If you checked out my Smothered Roast Beef recipe from the other day, I hinted that the leftovers from that dish would be used in another recipe.  This is that recipe. 

And before any of you balk at this I’m going to tell you upfront that some of the gravy from that roast beef is used as the base of this soup.  Don’t go thinking that is weird, gravy in soup, because if you remember that gravy was made with a can of condensed cream of mushroom soup.  So really, it’s only fitting for it to be in this soup.  And it works.  Very well, I might add.

I make this in the slow cooker and it works out perfectly fine.

BEEF BARLEY SOUP:

  • 1 1/2 Cups Diced Leftover Roast Beef
  • 4 Cups Low Sodium Beef Broth
  • 1 Cup Leftover Gravy
  • 1 Cup Water
  • 2 Carrots, diced
  • 1 Stalk Celery, diced
  • 1 Small Onion, chopped
  • 2 Bay Leaves
  • 3/4 Cup Small Pearl Barley
  • Salt & Pepper, to taste

Place all ingredients in the slower cook leaving out the barley.

Stir well, season accordingly, cover and set to low.  Allow to cook on low for 4 hours.  At the end of 4 hours, stir in the barley and cover.  Allow to continue cooking for an additional 1 1/2 to 2 hours, or until barley is tender.

Serve up with some grilled cheese. 

Enjoy!

7 responses to “Beef Barley Soup

  1. Liz @ Blog is the New Black January 5, 2011 at 7:55 AM

    Looks awesome. I need to make more soups before spring rolls around!

  2. kim (Foodin New England) January 5, 2011 at 10:29 AM

    Oh, i do love soup! It gets to the point where my family will groan when i mention it. LOL But i make so many varieties.
    Beef barley is one of my favorites, i have always loved barley. Something about those little nuggets..
    No, i don’t think you are wierd adding the gravy at all! Sometimes i add a packet of GOOD gravy mix to mine.
    Great pic!

  3. polwig January 5, 2011 at 8:21 PM

    I love soup, any soup, any day. When I lived alone I use to make ton of soups and freeze them. This way when I got home from work and opened my freezer I would have at least 3 soups to choose from. Got me through Chicago winters 🙂

  4. Sherry January 29, 2011 at 4:05 PM

    Yummy! I love barley soup! I make gravy with cream of mushroom soup all the time…nothing weird there. Thanks!

    • boredcook January 31, 2011 at 12:06 PM

      Barley is one of my favs, too. I guess I got the weird idea when my husband asked the first time I made this why I was adding gravy to the soup. He didn’t complain once he tried it.

      Thanks for visiting, Sherry!

Leave a Reply

