Bored Cook In The Kitchen

Tried and true recipes, new twists on old favorites, and new dishes to expand my family's palate.

Pasta Ragu


This is a super easy one pot meal to make for your family.  My daughter looked and said she wasn’t eating it until I had to tell her it was “Cinderella Pasta”.  When she asked why it was Cinderella’s Pasta I told her because the wheels in the pasta came from Cinderella’s pumpkin coach.  I was grasping at straws to try to get her to try it and I knew once she did she would like it. 

Really, it’s more of a ragu than it is Cinderella’s anything.  I made this with diced tomatoes, bulk Italian sausage and ground beef.  Let the ragu simmer on the stove while you boil the pasta water and you have a filling meal ready in no time.  And, okay, I actually used two pots, but one had boiling water in it so I’m not counting it.

Pasta Ragu:

  • 1 lb. Bulk Italian Sausage
  • 1/2 lb. Ground Beef
  • (1) 14.5 oz Can Petite Diced Tomatoes
  • (1) 29  oz. Can Crushed Tomato Sauce
  • 1/2 lb. Pasta such as Wheels, Penne, Bow Ties, etc.
  • 1/2 Cup Chopped Fresh Parsley
  • 1/2 tsp. Dry Italian Seasoning
  • 1/2 Medium Onion, Chopped
  • 2 Cloves Garlic, Diced
  • 1/4 Cup Grated Parmesan Cheese
  • 3/4 Cup Grated Mozzarella Cheese *optional

 In a large and deep skillet, brown the pork and beef breaking up as it browns.  Remove it to a paper towel lined plate to drain.

Without washing the skillet, add the onion and garlic and sauté until translucent.  Add the meat and all other ingredients to the skillet except for the pasta and the mozzarella cheese.  Stir together well, cover and reduce to a low simmer.

Fill a large stock pot 3/4 with water and salt.  Bring to a boil.  Add the pasta and cook until just al dente.  Once done, drain the pasta, add to the skillet along with the mozzarella cheese and stir well.  Serve with garlic bread.

Enjoy!

I shared this recipe in the Saturday Swap over at Kim’s blog, Quit Eating Out

.
Check it out here for more great recipes!

12 responses to “Pasta Ragu

  1. kim (Foodin New England) January 4, 2011 at 12:04 PM

    It’s kind of like my version of American Chop Suey. I love how you added the “Cinderella Pasta” 🙂 I am starving right now…

  2. Julie ~ jbulie's blog January 7, 2011 at 5:10 AM

    Yay! Thank you for sharing. I can’t wait to try this.

    Julie

  3. Kim at Quit Eating Out {Recipes to Make Dining Out a Choice, Not a Chore} January 7, 2011 at 2:17 PM

    Thanks so much for linking to Saturday Swap with this great recipe. Pasta is a fave of mine and my kiddos (we always make it if my hubby is going to be late since it’s not so much his fave). 🙂 I’m super anxious to read through more of your recipes… Great blog!! Have a super weekend!

  4. Kristen January 7, 2011 at 2:52 PM

    What a delicious one pot meal!

  5. Jo January 8, 2011 at 11:22 AM

    This looks like a perfect dish for busy weeknights. I can’t wait to try it out!

    Jo

  6. Caryn January 10, 2011 at 6:31 PM

    We just tried this and everyone loved it! The best is there is enough left over for my husbands lunch tomorrow. Thanks for posting this recipe on Sataurday Swap! Off to check out more of your recipes.

    Caryn

Leave a Reply

