Bored Cook In The Kitchen

Tried and true recipes, new twists on old favorites, and new dishes to expand my family's palate.

Cornbread Casserole


When I was cleaning my bedroom the other day I came across a book I had forgotten I bought.  Last year my son’s school had a book fair and I picked up Taste of Home’s “Fast Fixes with Mixes”. 

I sat looking through it that night and found several easy and tasty looking recipes I wanted to try.  I knew exactly which one I would try first and that was their version of Cornbread Casserole.

It took about 5 minutes to throw together and about another 25 to bake.  Everyone in my house loved it except, of course, my 8-year-old son.  He loves cornbread but was upset that there was real corn in this recipe.  Go figure.  My oldest tore through it.  I served it with my Taco Soup and it was an easy meal on a busy night.

Mix everything together in one bowl!

Pour into greased baking dish.

Bake, scoop and eat!

 

Cornbread Casserole:

From Taste of Home “Fast Fixes with Mixes”

  • 1 – 8.25 oz. Box Cornbread Mix (I used Jiffy)
  • 1 – 14.5 oz Can of whole kernel corn, drained
  • 1 – 14.5 oz. Can of Creamed Corn
  • 1 – Large egg
  • 1/4 tsp. Garlic Powder
  • 1/4 tsp. Paprika

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.

In a mixing bowl, mix all ingredients together well.

The recipe calls for a 11 x 7 x 2 baking dish.  I have a CorningWare dish that is right around that size so I used that.  Grease the baking dish and pour in the mixture.  Spread the mixture with a spatula until level.

Bake for 25 to 30 minutes, or until just slightly brown on the top.  You aren’t looking for a deep golden brown because you want this to remain moist.  Mine took 25 minutes exactly on the middle rack.

Serve while hot.  This is moist, rich and sweet, just like I like my cornbread.

Enjoy!

2 responses to “Cornbread Casserole

  1. Julie ~ jbulie's blog December 8, 2010 at 3:38 PM

    Hey girl.

    Just checking in on you to see what’s cooking. Get it? Ha ha 🙂
    I enjoy your blog and recipes.

    Julie

  2. caren gittleman December 8, 2010 at 4:17 PM

    this looks delicious!!!!!
    I make a variation that has sour cream in it and you put swiss cheese on top when it bakes….it is to die for!

Leave a Reply

