Bored Cook In The Kitchen

Tried and true recipes, new twists on old favorites, and new dishes to expand my family's palate.

Cookie Play-Dough


This past Christmas, my sister-in-law bought David’s Cookie Play Dough from a school fundraiser for my children.  The tubs of this fun colored cookie dough have been in the freezer at her house because on Christmas day we forgot to bring them home with us.  Luckily they can be frozen for up to a year. 

When we visited with her this past weekend she reminded us that she still had this and we took it home.  Of course my children have been begging to make cookies with it since we returned home, so I promised them today was the day.

These were so fun and simple to do.  The kids really had a great time with them.  Instead of using cookie cutters the kids wanted to just make cookies like freehand like they would if they were playing with actual Play-Doh.  So I let them have at it. 

They got creative and made things like sankes, baseballs, footballs, flowers, butterflies and anything else they could think of. 

They also made a cookie that represented “Mommy” and “Daddy”.    There is me on the left and my husband on the right.

And let me just tell you, the likeness to us was astounding!  Except for the fact that I have brown eyes not blue.  And my hair -thanks to Clairol- is dark brown and not green.  And my skin color is more ivory peach than it is “Jaundice Yellow”.  They got my husband’s eye color right, of course his hair is brown not yellow, and he definitely does not have green lips. Oh, and my husband and I actually have noses.  But still…the resemblence is unbelievable, despite all those other factors. 🙂

2 responses to “Cookie Play-Dough

  1. Julie August 27, 2010 at 7:53 AM

    Pam,

    I’ve never seen a real picture of you but I’m willing to guess that’s a good resemblance?

    ha ha. Cute cookies. Great idea.

    Julie

  2. Karen October 29, 2010 at 8:40 PM

    Glad to see the results of the gift Pam! And the kids nailed it with the “portrait cookies”! ;<)

Leave a Reply

