Bored Cook In The Kitchen

Tried and true recipes, new twists on old favorites, and new dishes to expand my family's palate.

Baked Potato Topper


This was my dinner last night, and it was perfect!

I loved baked potatoes and I especially love Pico De Gallo.  I had just made a fresh batch of Pico using the jalapeño and cilantro from our garden.   I had a bit of sour cream left over and thought combining that with some Pico De Gallo atop of my potato could in no way be a bad thing.  I was right!

I may give up butter forever on my potatoes!

Actually, scratch that last comment.  It’s a bold face lie. 

But it is the truth that this combination was perfect and just what I was looking for.  It will definitely make a reappearance on my plate.

4 responses to “Baked Potato Topper

  1. Jane @ Sweet Basil Kitchen July 24, 2010 at 3:53 PM

    Ah yes…love pico. Maybe a little guacamole with the sour cream! The photo makes me hungry!

  2. boredcook July 24, 2010 at 4:39 PM

    Love quacamole as well. Normally, I just mash up some avocados and add the Pico De Gallo to that and instant guacamole. I could eat bowls of it!

  3. Susan July 29, 2010 at 3:15 PM

    Nothing better than a nice simple dinner in the summer. This looks great!

  4. Julie ~ jbulie's blog July 30, 2010 at 12:17 PM

    Potatoes! Yay! Are these from the fifty pound bag in your garage? That dinner looks delicious. To be honest it was SUPER similar to my supper {super supper ~ get it?}, just no potato. Our peppers have just ripened too. So yummy. There are few things more wonderful than having fresh dinner from your own garden. My compliments.

    Julie

Leave a Reply

