Bored Cook In The Kitchen

Tried and true recipes, new twists on old favorites, and new dishes to expand my family's palate.

Thick-and-Gooey Chocolate-Chip Cookies


Everyone is on the hunt for the “Perfect Chocolate Chip Cookie.”  I won’t say I found it because I’m sure someone else has claimed that title.  I will say that these cookies were good enough that I do plan to make them again.  That’s about as perfect as one can get, I think.

I found these in the New York Times listed as “Thick-and-Gooey Chocolate-Chip Cookie.”  Just reading that description was it even possible to not want to try these cookies?

After I read through the ingredients I saw the gooey was coming from the two sticks of butter and the three cups of chocolate chips.  Sounds good to me!  I was a little apprehensive when I saw the 2 teaspoons of salt, though.  Granted it was 2 teaspoons of Kosher salt, which is less than 2 teaspoons of table salt.  Still, it seemed like a lot of salt to me.  I was determined to follow the recipe to the exact, so I did.  Surprisingly the salt content worked out perfectly.  You could definitely taste the salt in this cookie, but it wasn’t an overpowering taste.  More of that salty-sweet taste that many people crave.   It was pleasing enough that I may just add 2 teaspoons of Kosher salt to each and every chocolate chip cookie recipe I make from now on.

These are big cookies, too.  You measure out each one using a 1/4 cup measuring cup.  There were no complaints about them from anyone in this house.   Well, there was one complaint.  My kids saw the nuts and protested.  They hate nuts, where I love them.  So I compromised and did half the batch without nuts and the other half with.

Thick-and-Gooey Chocolate-Chip Cookies:

Recipe provided by the New York Times

Makes 26 to 30 cookies (NYT claims you get 30 cookies, I however got 26)

  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 2 teaspoons kosher salt
  • 2 sticks butter, softened
  • 1 1/2 cups packed light brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 3 cups chopped bittersweet chocolate (chunks and shavings)
  • 2 cups chopped walnuts (optional)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Line two baking sheets with parchment paper or Silpat. Sift together the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt.

In a mixer fitted with a paddle, cream the butter and sugars until fluffy, 3 minutes. Add the eggs, one at a time, then the vanilla. Add the flour mixture all at once and blend until a dough forms. Fold in the chocolate and walnuts. Chill the dough.
 
Roll 1/4 cup lumps of dough into balls, then place on the baking sheet and flatten to 1/2 -inch-thick disks spaced 2 inches apart. Chill the dough between batches. Bake until the edges turn golden, 14 to 17 minutes. Let cool slightly on the baking sheet, then transfer to a baking rack.

Note:  My cookies turned out at just about 17 minutes which gave me a golden brown to the outside and a moist and chewy inside.  Just the way we like them.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

8 responses to “Thick-and-Gooey Chocolate-Chip Cookies

  1. Julie ~ jbulie's blog July 15, 2010 at 11:07 AM

    I wonder how well these would fare in the mail? I bet there are none left. Yum. Those look great. Great post, as always Pam. Your family is so lucky.

  2. boredcook July 15, 2010 at 5:36 PM

    Julie, I have about 14 cookies left. Plenty to share. I doubt they woud travel well, though.

  3. cavemancooking July 18, 2010 at 1:03 AM

    I am so stuffed from Cavewoman’s Birthday dinner. Yet, somehow, I’d find room for these, Pam!

  4. Caveman Cooking September 12, 2010 at 6:45 PM

    Pam, please remove the “Optional” from the walnuts! 😉
    Oh man, do these look gooooooooood!!

  5. Lindsey@Kindred Spirit Mommy November 10, 2010 at 9:18 PM

    I made these today – SO good! They are seriously the best-looking cookies I’ve made, too. lol They were done for me at 15 minutes.

Leave a Reply

