Bored Cook In The Kitchen

Tried and true recipes, new twists on old favorites, and new dishes to expand my family's palate.

Sauteed Asparagus


 

If I had to pick a favorite vegetable it would easily be asparagus.  I can eat them roasted, steamed, naked or raw.  Surprisingly, my oldest son likes them also, but not surprisingly, both of my younger children won’t come near them.  My husband, who refuses to eat anything green, won’t come near these either. 

I love roasting them in the oven mixed with some garlic, olive oil, salt and pepper.  But another way I love them is quickly sautéed on the stove with some butter, olive oil, fresh garlic and soy sauce.  They take just a few minutes to cook up and they are absolutely delicious.

Sautéed Asparagus:

  • 1 Bunch Fresh Asparagus
  • 1 Clove Garlic, finely minced
  • 1 Tbsp. Butter
  • 1 tsp. Olive Oil
  • 1 tsp. Reduced Sodium Soy Sauce
  • Salt and Pepper, to taste

Wash and dry asparagus.  Either snap off the ends or cut them, whichever you prefer.  Then cut them on the diagonal and set to the side.

In a large saute pan, heat up the butter and olive oil and dump in the garlic.  Saute the garlic until soft, watching to make sure you don’t burn it.

Throw in the asparagus and the salt and pepper. Saute for a minute or two and then add the soy sauce.  Saute for a few minutes longer making sure not to over cook.  The asparagus should still be crisp, and total cooking time should be between 3 and 5 minutes.

Transfer to a serving bowl and enjoy!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

2 responses to “Sauteed Asparagus

  1. Lana @ Never Enough Thyme July 14, 2010 at 3:12 PM

    Oh, my! I’d pour that over a little cooked, white rice and eat myself silly.

Leave a comment