Bored Cook In The Kitchen

Tried and true recipes, new twists on old favorites, and new dishes to expand my family's palate.

Kielbasa, Sauerkraut and Potato Bake


A few years ago, my husband came across a recipe in a magazine and decided to make it.  When he told me about it I looked at the recipe and thought, This is not something I would have chosen.  Nobody is going to eat this.

One of the few things my husband and I have in common is our enjoyment in cooking.  Not always together since he tends to crowd me in the kitchen.  But there have been plenty of times I have been adventurous with my trying of new recipes, so I wasn’t about to crush his hopes at trying something different.

The original recipe, which we lost several years ago when the magazine got thrown out, was cooked in the slow cooker.  It also contained pork chops.  We found the pork chops, no matter if we used boneless or bone in consistently came out dry and everyone preferred the Kielbasa anyway.  So from memory we made the recipe again, leaving out the pork chops, doubling up on the Kielbasa and the sauerkraut, and it became a hit.

My daughter will not come near this dish.  My 8-year-old son, however, loves this dish.  He devours it when I make it.  This is the same child who refuses to eat macaroni and cheese unless it comes out of a box.  My pickier eater out of all three of my children.  And this is the dish he loves.  I don’t try to figure it out, I just go with it.  Makes life easier.

This type of dish is really something you either really like, or really don’t like.  I haven’t come across any middle ground here.  For  us, it’s become a favorite.  The smokey flavor of the kielbasa, the briny tang of the sauerkraut, and the potatoes that just absorb it all work really well together.

This is really easy to make and it’s very forgiving.  I don’t really worry about measurements here because no matter how we have made it, it always turns out good. 

Give it a try and see what  you think.

Kielbasa, Sauerkraut and Potato Bake:

Serves: 4

  • 2 Kielbasa links, sliced about 1/2″ thick
  • 2 Large red potatoes, skin on and sliced in 1/2″ thick rounds
  • 27 oz. Sauerkraut
  • 1/2 cup beer, white wine OR chicken broth
  • Italian Blend Seasoning, salt free, to taste
  • Ground Black Pepper, to taste

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Slice potatoes and Kielbasa and set to the side.

In the bottom of a large dutch oven, begin layering your ingredients.  Place 1/3 of sauerkraut on the bottom of the slow cooker. 

Top the sauerkraut with some sliced potatoes follow by a layer of sliced Kielbasa.  Sprinkle with some black pepper and italian seasoning.

Repeat the layers, ending with a layer of sauerkraut, italian seasoning and black pepper. 

Pour over the liquid of your choice, either the wine, beer or chicken broth.

Cover and place in the oven on the middle rack. 

Allow to cook for an hour to an hour and fifteen minutes.

Remove from oven and keep covered until ready to serve.

Enjoy.

Note:  You will see I left out salt.  You don’t need it.  Between the sauerkraut and the Kielbasa, you will have plenty!

If you prefer to cook this in the slow cooker, use the same layering process, and cook on low between 6 to 8 hours.

This time I used Russett Potatoes, because that’s what I had on hand, but I prefer it with Red Potatoes.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

5 responses to “Kielbasa, Sauerkraut and Potato Bake

  1. Patrick July 8, 2014 at 10:12 AM

    I see a lot of interesting posts on your blog. You have to spend
    a lot of time writing, i know how to save you a lot of time, there is a tool that creates unique, SEO friendly posts in couple of seconds, just search in google – laranita’s
    free content source

  2. Janice August 3, 2014 at 3:28 PM

    I make this all the time and everyone loves it. Sometimes I melt some brown sugar in the beer. and pour over the kielbasa and sauerkraut. Sometimes I make homemade mashed potatoes instead of the redskins and serve the mixture over the mashed potatoes. Good Recipe!!! Thanks you

  3. Katharina August 30, 2014 at 11:39 AM

    I read a lot of interesting articles here. Probably you
    spend a lot of time writing, i know how to save you a lot of work, there is an online tool that creates readable, google friendly articles in minutes, just type in google –
    laranitas free content source

  4. Pingback: How To Cook Sauerkraut | spinach -how to cook vegetables

  5. BetterlFilh October 17, 2015 at 10:13 PM

    I don’t care about this, now i’m making average $5500 a month.
    There is tricky way i found on the web. If you want to
    learn it too, simply type in google: Ruthiezx’s method to earn online

Leave a Reply

