Bored Cook In The Kitchen

Tried and true recipes, new twists on old favorites, and new dishes to expand my family's palate.

My Most Favorite Meal. Ever


If I knew that tomorrow was the last day I would live, and someone asked me what I wanted as my last meal, this would be it.

Crab.  And I’m not picky.  King Crab Legs, as we ate this evening, or Snow Crab Legs.  I’ll take either.

Lobster?  I can always down a good lobster tail, but for me, crab is always my first choice.

Someone gave us these King Crab legs awhile back and they were in the freezer.  I’ve looked at them all week and decided tonight was the night for them.  

And they were perfect. Sweet, meaty, hot and buttery.  Perfection.

Steamed King Crab Legs:

  • 2 to 3 pounds King Crab Legs
  • 2 ears of corn, peeled broken in half
  • 1 stick of salted butter, melted
  • 1 clove fresh garlic
  • 1/2 tsp. ground black pepper
  • 2 to 3 Tbsp. Old Bay Seasoning
  • Fresh lemon wedges for squeezing

In a large stock pot, place a steamer basket in the bottom.  Fill with a few inches of water mixed with 2 to 3 tablespoons of Old Bay Seasoning.

Bring to a boil and turn the heat down to low.  Place your crab legs in the bottom and cover and steam.  These were frozen, so they went for a good 15 to 20 minutes.  You just want them hot throughout.

You can also do as I did and throw in a few ears of fresh corn on the cob that I broke in half, right into the bottom of the steamer basket.  They grab the flavor of the crab and the Old Bay perfectly.

Serve it up with some melted (and salted) butter with some crushed garlic and pepper in the mix.

Then sit on your deck, crack some crab, dip it into some garlic butter, squeeze on some fresh lemon and know that you are in heaven.

Doesn’t get any better!

4 responses to “My Most Favorite Meal. Ever

  1. soufflebombay June 7, 2010 at 9:49 AM

    I am SO WITH YOU on the crab!! Quadruple YUM!

  2. boredcook June 7, 2010 at 6:23 PM

    Isn’t it the best. I could eat it daily.

  3. cavemancooking July 18, 2010 at 1:02 AM

    Pam, I might have made the trek to your house for this one …. YUMMMMMMMMMM!!!

Leave a Reply

