Bored Cook In The Kitchen

Tried and true recipes, new twists on old favorites, and new dishes to expand my family's palate.

Potato Salad


There are probably a million recipes for potato salad and I’m sure this is one of them.  What can’t you throw in potato salad.  I can tell you one thing that is never being added to my potato salad, an ingredient common in most potato salads.  Can you guess what that is?  For those who know me you have probably guessed it already. 

Eggs.

Nope. Ain’t happening.  I hate getting all ready to sink my teeth into some potato salad only to find out there are eggs in it. 

Actually, I do cook with eggs all the time.  But in their natural state they scare me.  Seriously.  It’s a texture thing, folks.  That’s all I can tell you.

I won’t eat clams either for the same reason. 

But this ain’t about clams and their ain’t no clams in this potato salad either.   I’m rambling now, so I’m going to move on and just tell what actually is in this potato salad.

Potatoes, bacon, red onion, mayonnaise, celery, carrots and mayonnaise.   Hellmann’s mayonnaise.  There really is no other mayonnaise out there to use in salads. 

Of course you can use whatever mayonnaise you want.   Just don’t invite me over for dinner.  You would have lost me already at the eggs, but the mayonnaise would have put me over the top. 

Truth be told, I really don’t measure out anything when I’m making potato salad.  I do it pretty much just by sight and taste alone but since I should show an actual recipe, I’ll do my best to estimate what I used for this one.  Feel free to omit or use whatever you want.  Mix, taste, add what you need and taste again.  It’s really the only way to make this.

One of my most favorite ways to eat potato salad is wrapped up in a romaine lettuce leaf.  I love the creamy texture of the potatoes combined with the crispy crunch of the lettuce.  Perfect!

Potato Salad:

  • 5 Medium Russet Potatoes, peeled and boiled
  • 1/2 Small Red Onion, minced
  • 1-2 Stalks Celery, minced
  • 5 Pieces of Crisp Bacon, crumbled
  • 1 Small Carrot, grated
  • 1/2 tsp. Mrs. Dash
  • 1/4 tsp. Celery Salt
  • 1/2 tsp. Ground Black Pepper
  • 1 tsp. Yellow Mustard
  • 3/4 – 1 Cup HELLMANN’S Mayonnaise
  • Fresh Parsley, Chopped (*optional)

Boil a pot of water and salt it.  Add whole, peeled potatoes and simmer until potatoes are fork tender. 

Cook up your bacon until crisp and set to the side to cool. 

While your potatoes are cooking start chopping up your carrots, onion and celery.  Add your vegetables and all of your dry ingredients to a large bowl, leaving the mayonnaise and mustard to the side. 

Once potatoes are done, drain them in a colander and run them under cool water until they are cool to the touch. 

Drain potatoes and cup up in small or large chunks.  Sometimes I will cut up 3/4 of the potatoes and then cream the rest of them making the salad creamier. 

Add potatoes to your bowl.  Add the mayonnaise and mustard and mix well making sure it’s well combined.   Once mixed, crumble your bacon over the top and mix again just before serving. 

Place in a covered dish and refrigerate until ready. 

Enjoy!

2 responses to “Potato Salad

  1. Julie ~ jbulie's blog June 5, 2010 at 3:41 AM

    Yum! On my way over. Set the table. Put away any sharp objects. I got boyz.

    xo

Leave a Reply

