Bored Cook In The Kitchen

Tried and true recipes, new twists on old favorites, and new dishes to expand my family's palate.

Raiding the fridge chicken


Doesn’t look pretty, does it?  It wasn’t, but it was delicious!

I had some chicken legs I had picked up and was trying to think of something to do with them. 

Later that day I also cleaned out the doors on the inside of the fridge.  They were filled with half filled and almost empty jars and bottles of this and that.

I ended up taking all of the “this and that” and mixing it up, pouring it over the chicken legs and letting them get all aquainted for a few hours.

I decided to begin cooking them in the oven, and probably left them a bit too long since I got busy doing other things.  My idea was to start their cooking in the oven and then throw them out on the grill to get nice and crisp on the outside.

By the time I remembered to pull them from the oven, they were almost at the point of falling off the bone. 

I put them on the hot grill anyway and they just fell apart.  It didn’t make for a pretty presenation, but if you think it wasn’t the BEST chicken we have eaten in awhile, you would be very wrong.  It was devoured once I put it on the table and there was not a scrap to be seen after the kids were done with it.

Sometimes cooking mistakes make for good meals.  This was one of them.

As for a recipe,  I’m not sure I have one since as I said, I just threw everything in a bowl that I had leftover in the fridge.  I’m going to estimate how much I had of what I put into the sauce for these.  I didn’t measure anything, just emptied, rinsed out the jars and bottles and stuck them in the recylable bin.  You can pretty much use whatever you have on your fridge door that needs to be purged.  Combinging anything sweet and savory will make for a delicious glaze for any kind of chicken.

Raiding the Fridge Chicken:

  • 8 Chicken Legs
  • 1/2 Cup Apricot Preserves
  • 1 Cup Sesame Teriyaki Marinade
  • 1/2 Cup Honey BBQ Sauce
  • 2-3 Tbsp. Steak Sauce
  • 1 tsp. Ground Ginger

In a 13 x 9 baking dish, line up the chicken legs.

In a separate bowl, mix all the wet and dry ingredients together and pour over the chicken. 

Pour mixture over the chicken and refrigerate either overnight or for 5 or 6 hours.

Remove the chicken from the fridge and preheat the oven to 350 degrees. 

Cover chicken with foil and bake for 35 to 45 minutes.  

Heat your grill and place chicken on it to brown and get crisp.  You might want to grease the grill before doing this so you can prevent the chicken from sticking. 

Once browned and crisp (and most likely falling apart) remove to a serving platter and serve immediately.

2 responses to “Raiding the fridge chicken

  1. engarde May 27, 2010 at 1:23 PM

    Great idea and looks yummy!

  2. boredcook May 27, 2010 at 2:36 PM

    Hey! Good to see you!

    It was good. Of course I’ll probably never be able to duplicate the recipe to an exact science again, but I may come close.

Leave a Reply

