Bored Cook In The Kitchen

Tried and true recipes, new twists on old favorites, and new dishes to expand my family's palate.

Chicken Lo Mein


If there is one type of food that my entire family loves it would be Chinese.  My kids devour it when we order in. 

Lo Mein is a favorite at our table, so when I saw a recipe for it, I had to try it out.  My recipe pretty much no longer resembles the one I was inspired by. 

They used shrimp and I used chicken.  Their measurements for the sauce provided a lack luster result, so I ended up changing it up.  What came from it was a version I was very happy with.  And by the fact that none was left after dinner, I think my family would agree with me.

I also used regular thin spaghetti instead of the Lo Mein noodles normally used.  It worked out perfectly and not something I would be inclined to change.

Chicken Lo Mein:

Serves: 4

  • 8 oz. Thin spaghetti
  • 1 lb. Boneless chicken breasts
  • 3 Cups shredded cabbage mix from a bag
  • 2 Green onions, sliced thin
  • 4 Tbsp. Peanut Oil
  • 2 Tbsp. Soy Sauce
  • 1 tsp. Ground ginger
  • 2 tsp. Corn starch
  • 3 tsp. White sugar

Remove all fat from chicken

breasts, and filet them if very thick.  Cut each breast into same sized small cubes and place in a large bowl.

In a small, separate bowl, mix together the soy sauce, ginger, sugar and cornstarch until fully blended.  Pour this over the chicken, stir well to combine and allow to marinade in the refrigerator for up to an hour.

When the chicken is marinated, remove it from the refrigerator and place to the side. 

In a large stock pot, bring 2 quarts of well salted water to a boil.  Break the spaghetti in half and place in the boiling water, stirring often to prevent it sticking together.

You can use a wok if you have one, or do like I did and use a large and deep non-stick frying pan.  Set the temperature on the stove to high, place the pan down and heat up 2 Tbsp. of Peanut Oil. 

Dump in the chicken and immediately being stir frying it and moving it around constantly.  It should get browned, but not overdone.  Once done, remove it to a plate, cover and set it to the side to keep warm.

Once the pasta is cooked to aldente, immediately drain it and rinse well under cool water.  Drain and place to the side.

Add the other 2 Tbsp. of peanut oil to the hot pan and pour in the shredded cabbage and the sliced green onion.  Again, moving constantly, sautée until the cabbage softens and browns slightly.  Once this is achieved, add the chicken and the drained spaghetti and toss until heated through and evenly coated. 

Immediately place in a serving platter and enjoy with some sweet and sour sauce or additional soy sauce.

Enjoy.

2 responses to “Chicken Lo Mein

  1. Julie ~ jbulie's blog May 17, 2010 at 8:21 PM

    On my way over. Set the table.

Leave a Reply

