Bored Cook In The Kitchen

Tried and true recipes, new twists on old favorites, and new dishes to expand my family's palate.

French Toast


 

 

I almost didn’t post this recipe.  But than a funny American-living-in-Italy asked me to post something for breakfast.  I figured I would think up something good that was a little different, like my cheesy hash browns.  But then I remembered a few years back, a friend of mine ate my french toast and said it was delicious.  I thought it was a nice complement, but kind of odd since it was just regular french toast.  Nothing fantastic.  No fancy toppings.  No fancy stuffing.  Just. French. Toast.

When I asked her why she was so in love with it she told me that she had never added cinnamon to her french toast.  I was a little confused.  Isn’t french toast always made with cinnamon?  I thought so.  But, maybe not?

When I asked how she made hers she told me she just dipped it in egg, threw it on a hot buttered skillet and served it with syrup.   She was equally thrilled when I told her there was vanilla in the mix as well.

So in thinking of that I figured french toast might not be such a bad idea to include here.  Apparently, people do make it differently.  Who knew!

So here you have it.  A favorite recipe in our home, and a super easy one at that!

French Toast:

Serves: 4

  • 8 slices of thick white bread (I like to use Freihofer’s French Toast Bread)
  • 3 Large eggs
  • 2 Tbsp. milk
  • 1 tsp. (heaping) ground cinnamon
  • 1 tsp. Vanilla extract
  • Butter for the skillet
  • Powdered Sugar for sprinkling on top (optional)
  • Slices of banana or berries for topping (optional)

*I use an electric skillet for my pancakes and french toast.  If you are using a stove top skillet, adjust cooking time as necessary.*

Heat your electric skillet to 350 degrees. 

In a pie plate, beat the eggs, milk, vanilla and cinnamon together. 

Put a pat of butter on the skillet.

Quickly dip each piece of bread, both sides, in the egg mixture and then place on the skillet.  Cook on one side until a nice golden brown, flip and cook on the other side.

Serve with warm maple syrup, some sprinkled powdered sugar and some sliced bananas or other fruit. 

Enjoy!

3 responses to “French Toast

  1. Julie ~ jbulie's blog May 12, 2010 at 11:10 AM

    Oh Yum, yum yummy Pam! Thank you so much for posting for me. Now I’m hungry and I’m on a perpetual diet. Argh. I heard that comment about the funny American living in Italy! I see you. I’m right here.

    Great post. You know what? I have a hard time finding good syrup here. I usually use nutella. The kids don’t seem to mind. I do. I’d love a sopping syruppy breakfast like this. Great posting Pam.

    Julie

  2. KC May 18, 2010 at 11:28 AM

    Sometimes I add dried orange peel to my French Toast, made like yours, sprinkle it with nutmeg and then make a fresh blueberry syrup to go with. I love French Toast because there are so many variations you can try.

Leave a Reply

