Bored Cook In The Kitchen

Tried and true recipes, new twists on old favorites, and new dishes to expand my family's palate.

Meat Marinade


I constantly make meat marinades, and hardly ever make them exactly the same way each time.  Normally they contain the same basic core ingredients, but I usually switch it up a bit here and there. 

This marinade is one I made up last night.  Hubby is smoking a beef brisket this weekend (recipe to follow in a few days), and I wanted to have it ready the night before I planned to marinate the meat. 

This is a savory-sweet marinade.  We have this fantastic little barbecue place near us that has the most awesome smoked beef brisket.  Their marinade is a little sweet and a little savory.  As well as a little spicy.  My kids love it as well, but they won’t eat much of it because of the spicy part.  To make them happy I left out the heat I would have “preferred” to add in. 

I wish I could tell you I had some hardcore ingredient measurements to give you, but the fact is that I don’t.  I never measure when I make marinades because I always mix them up on a whim, and just eyeball everything.  I’ll give you a general idea of how much to add, but remember, none of this is solid.  Just use whatever you have in your pantry. 

Meat Marinade:

**I marinated a 4 lb. beef brisket with this, and it filled a 1 quart canning jar.

  • 1/2 Cup Canola Oil
  • 1 14.5 oz. Can Low Sodium Beef Broth
  • Approx. 3 Tbsp. Worcestershire Sauce
  • Approx. 2-3 Tbsp. Soy Sauce
  • 1 Medium Onion, Sliced
  • 2 Cloves Garlic, Sliced
  • 1 tsp. Smoked Paprika
  • 1/2 – 1 tsp. Ground Black Pepper
  • 1/4 Cup Packed Brown Sugar

Mix all ingredients together the night before you plan to marinade the meat, and place in the refrigerator. 

The next morning, remove the marinade and pour over your meat.  You can do this in either a large container, or I even prefer a Ziploc bag so I can turn the bag every few hours and get the meat to fully grab all that flavor.  If you use this method, make sure you place the bag with the meat in a large bowl in the fridge.  I’ve had Ziploc bags leak, and that’s one mess you don’t want to be cleaning out of the fridge.

Allow meat to sit and marry for 24 hours before preparing.

Enjoy!

4 responses to “Meat Marinade

  1. katie @ lemonade rain April 16, 2010 at 5:46 PM

    that looks great! i definitely can’t say no to anything that involves meat & garlic.. i can almost taste it now.
    great blog, wonderful posts 🙂

  2. cavemancooking April 17, 2010 at 3:33 AM

    You know, Pam, I was long overdue for a visit to your blog and what do I find?!?! A very Caveman-friendly recipe for a meat marinade. It’s almost like you knew I was stopping by! 😉
    I cook the same way … it varies a little bit almost every time. It makes it hard sometimes for sharing the recipe with others. But, then again, I hope that they experiment for their own tastes with anything they glean from me.
    Have a great weekend!

    • boredcook April 17, 2010 at 7:52 AM

      This is Caveman-friendly! Glad you could stop by. If you and your family were closer I would tell you guys to stop on over and sink your teeth into the smoked brisket hubby will be making tomorrow.

      Our plans were to smoke it today, but we have been hit with pouring rain so tomorrow will have to be smoking day…rain or shine. I’ll be at work, but I’m hoping hubby will take some pictures of the process but I can’t promise anything. LOL

      And hey, it gives the meat one more day to absorb all that goodness. That’s always a good thing!

Leave a Reply

