Bored Cook In The Kitchen

Tried and true recipes, new twists on old favorites, and new dishes to expand my family's palate.

Bold and Spicy Chicken Wings


I’m not sure what is going on with me lately, but over the past few weeks I have become addicited to hot and spicy foods.  I’ve always enjoyed some foods made with anything hot and spicey.  But not to the point that my face has turned beet red and I”m profusely sweating from every pore on my body.  In other words the way my husband normally enjoys his food in the spicey sense.  For me that spiciness needed to be less bold and have just a bit of a twang to it.

But…over the past few weeks I have taken to putting hot sauce on almost everything I eat.  From potatoes, to meat, to sandwiches.  And before anyone who knows me asks, let me set the record straight right here and now.  NO, I AM NOT PREGNANT!    I already had several family members over the weekend try to jinx me with that, thank you very much. 

Whatever the reason, when I normally would have preferred to eat something with maybe one or two dashes of hot sauce, I’m now upping that amount to five or six shakes of the stuff.  AND, I found a hot sauce yesterday while we were out eating that was not only hot and spicey, but it had lime in it as well.  What could be better since by now you may all know my addiction to anything with lime in it. 

The other night my husband decided he wanted some wings.  I had remembered a recipe I wanted to try that was in the April 2010 issue of a magazine we receive Cuisine at Home .    The recipe is called Bold and Spicy Chicken Wings with Cranberry Glaze and it looked good. 

My husband made them up and there was not one left to be had.  And of course, I upped the amount of hot sauce they called for in the recipe.  For those of you who like just a bit of heat, I have to tell you that even with the extra dashes I put in that the recipe didn’t call for, they were still not blow-your-head-off-set-your-ears-and-throat-on-fire-hot.  So don’t be afraid to add a few more dashes.

Bold and Spicy Chicken Wings with Cranberry Glaze:

Servings: 4

From the April 2010 issue of Cusine at Home

  • 1/3 Cup frozen cranberry juice concentrate, thawed (**See Note)
  • 3 Tbsp. Prepared yellow mustard
  • 2 Tbsp. Brown Sugar
  • 2-3 tsp. Tabasco Sauce (I added more!)
  • 1 tsp. Worcestershire sauce
  • Approx. 20 chicken wings (I used a frozen bag of Tyson wings)

Preheat broiler with oven rack 5-6 inches from the heating element.  Line a baking sheet with foil and spray with nonstick cooking spray. (I used a broiler pan with a cooking rack so all the fat dripped off and it makes the wings more crisp.)

Whisk together the cranberry concentrate (**See Note) mustard, brown sugar, Tabasco and Worcestershire sauce in a small saucepan.  Bring to a boil over high heat, reduce heat to medium, and simmer until mixture becomes syrupy, 5-8 minutes.

Season chicken with salt and pepper and place on your prepared baking sheet.  Broil for 10 minutes on one side.  Flip chicken and baste with cranberry glaze.  Broil an additional 6 minutes, flip again, and baste the uncoated side.  Broil until chicken begins to brown and caramelize. 

**Notes:  I didn’t have cranberry juice concentrate, but I did have a can of whole cranberry sauce.  I measured out about a 1/2 cup and puree it with my hand blender until smooth.  You could also use peach or apricot preserves, which I have used in the past when making BBQ sauce, and I’m sure it would be just as good.

As I said I upped the amount of Tabasco by a few extra dashes and it still turned out good.

I also cooked mine longer because I like a crisper coating on the outside. 

These turned out great and are definitely going to make an appearance again on our kitchen table.

Enjoy!

One response to “Bold and Spicy Chicken Wings

  1. scam 2016 September 1, 2016 at 3:00 AM

    They are also good sites to use to subscribe to search
    results that include keyword phrases you want to watch (your company, your
    product, your competitors).

Leave a Reply

