Bored Cook In The Kitchen

Tried and true recipes, new twists on old favorites, and new dishes to expand my family's palate.

Lime & Cilantro Rice


I’ve mentioned before about my utter addiction to both lime and cilantro.  And also that I tend to use large amounts of them when cooking.  A good thing for me, but not such a good thing for those in my family who like these flavors, but aren’t as crazy about them as I am.  So I tend to try to tone them down a bit when I’m cooking for others.  Sometimes.

But when it comes to lime and cilantro rice I’m not toning them down.  Take it or leave it is my motto about this dish in my home, and surprisingly, they do take it.  And some leave it. 

One of my greatest memories of all the times I have visited Mexico is the smell on the streets.  Of course, like any street anywhere that is not always an appetizing scent.  But what I’m referring to is the strong smell of corn,  Mexican spices, and always of course, lime.  You smell these aromas everywhere you go and I swear I can recall them perfectly in my mind when I think back to those vacations.

That was where I discovered my obsession with lime and cilantro and the scent of them alone brings me right back to the fantastic food I ate while visiting.  This dish is one of the many that does it for me!

If you are not a lime and cilantro fanatic like I am, you might want to cut these two ingredients in half when preparing this dish.   If you are as much of a lunatic about these flavors, keep to the recipe amounts or add more and go really crazy!   You can also use whatever rice makes you happy.  For this recipe I like parboiled, but  go with what makes you happy.

Lime and Cilantro Rice:

Serves: 4

  • 1 Cup Uncooked Parboiled Rice
  • 2 1/2 Cups of Water
  • 2 Fresh Limes, Juiced
  • 1/2 Cup Chopped Fresh Cilantro
  • 1 tsp. Goya Recaito Cilantro Cooking Base
  • 1/2 tsp. Kosher Salt
  • Freshly Ground Black Pepper, to taste

Bring water to a slow boil in a covered pot and add in the Recaiato and salt.  Stir to dissolve.  Add the rice and immediately cover and turn the heat to low/simmer.

It’s important that you leave the rice covered and DON’T TOUCH IT!  Nothing ruins rice more than opening and closing the lid on the pot.  It won’t get tender and it takes longer to cook.  Trust me.  Just let it be.

After about 30 minutes (here is the time it’s okay to check and remove the cover) all the water should be absorbed and the rice should be done. 

Once done, add in the chopped fresh cilantro and the lime juice.  Mix gently and taste.  If you need additional salt or pepper, add it now. 

Scoop into a serving dish and serve.  You can sprinkle with some extra fresh cilantro or even add some extra fresh lime juice if you really want to up the flavor. 

Enjoy!

2 responses to “Lime & Cilantro Rice

  1. http://julieangelos.com March 6, 2010 at 6:28 AM

    Hey Pam! Spring is right around the corner. You’ll see. Today our weather is freezing but sunny. At least the kids can play outside, with their little jackets. They have so much fun. I’m so proud that my boys prefer outdoor activity to tv. I should learn from them and close my laptop. Actually, last message and then I am off.

    Just wanted to say that rice is exactly what you should be eating after a stomach ache. That’s what they do here in Italy. At school, parents request a white lunch, which is rice with olive oil and parmesan cheese. Sometimes the simplest things are the best.

    Keep up the great work.

    Julie

    • boredcook March 6, 2010 at 5:44 PM

      OK, rice, parmesan and olive oil is something that is so delicious, I would actually want a stomache for an excuse to eat it. How cool that you guys offer that as a lunch option. Here…it’s frozen tater tots and dehydrated chicken nuggets. Scary.

      Another great thing for a stomach bug is yogurt. People are surprised when they hear that because it’s a dairy product, and normally you stay clear of dairy when you are suffering from a stomach virus. But, yogurt works wonders because of all the live and active cultures in it. It actually helps battle out the bad stuff in your intestine. I’ve lived on it for the past few days. That and chamomile tea.

Leave a Reply

