Bored Cook In The Kitchen

Tried and true recipes, new twists on old favorites, and new dishes to expand my family's palate.

Hot Chili Dip


This dip is so simple, so delicious, and so basic it’s ridiculous.  And of course I have a story to go along with it.

A long, long time ago, in a far away land…Just kidding.  Actually, it was a long time ago.  The late 80’s to be exact.  I was working for a travel company and long before we had the internet and email (most people didn’t even have a home computer) we had instead the live system running on the airline computer.  I worked in the group sales department but I was friendly with some of the people who worked in the ticketing department. 

While I was chatting with one of the girls doing the ticketing, I looked at her computer screen and saw this list of recipes.  No pictures, nothing fancy, just a listing of recipes.

I immediately said, “What’s that?”

“Recipes,” the girl responded.  “A lot of the ticketing agents post their recipes for the other agents to swap.”

I was entranced with the idea.  Imagine getting recipes, free, over the computer from people all over the world you didn’t know!  Who knew how simple that would become and you wouldn’t need to be a ticketing agent to have access to it. 

I saw this recipe posted by one of the agents and I immediately asked the girl to print it out for me.  I’ve made it ever since.  That was back in 1989.  I remember the year well because I had just started dating my husband.  This has been a staple in our household and must be made for every gathering no matter how big or small.  I’ve never come across anyone who doesn’t love it.

It’s very popular now, but every now and again I come across someone who has never had it or heard of it.  So because of that, I’m posting the very simple recipe. 

I saw last year on the Kraft website (at least I think it was Kraft) that they had an updated version of this.  It kinda made me laugh actually.  They just took a block of cream cheese, left it whole, poured some chili and shredded cheese over the top and heated it up.  I thought how crazy!  Why not just spread the cream cheese out instead of leaving it in a honking big block.  Here we will be spreading out the cream cheese.  It’s the right way to make it.  Trust me!

Now this recipe calls for canned chili.  I normally don’t eat canned chili, unless it’s in this recipe.  It just works for this dip and tends to hold up better.  But I have tried it with some homemade chili, and it’s equally delicious.  It just tends to be a bit runny, but the taste is still great!  You can try it with your own homemade chili, or try my simple version of  Chili .

Hot Chili Dip:

  • 1 Block of Cream Cheese
  • 1 Can of Chili
  • 1/2 Cup of Salsa
  • 2 Cups Shredded Cheddar Cheese

Heat oven to 350.

In a 9″ pie plate, spread the block of cream cheese out with the back of a spoon.

Top with the chili. 

Spread the salsa on top of the chili and then top with the cheese. 

Bake in the oven until everything is melted and hot.  So simple and so delicious!  Serve with tortilla chips, or Frito’s Scoops!

4 responses to “Hot Chili Dip

  1. http://julieangelos.com February 16, 2010 at 8:43 AM

    Gosh darn it, I want some. When are the computer engineers going to get the food and aromas across the keyboards? Loved the story, can’t get the ingredients. Pam, how would you make this if there were no cans of anything? I know, it would no longer be simple, huh? Now can you understand where I’m coming from? I tell ya! Keep the recipes coming. I can get the cheese here though. I’m batting one out of three.

    Have a good one.

    • boredcook February 16, 2010 at 11:36 AM

      If you are able to get the cream cheese and the cheddar cheese, you are home free! You can whip up a batch of chili. It’s truly not hard to do at all. Seriously. The longest part of the process is cooking it on the stove, but the prep work is just throwing it all in together. Towards the end of my post I put up the link I have for my recipe for chili. If you want you can give that a try and use that in place of the canned. It will still taste fantastic! It will just be a little more liquid, but nothing wrong with the taste at all.

      You said you can get the cheese in Italy, so I’m assuming you mean both the cream cheese and the cheddar. If you can’t ge the cream cheese I’m wondering if you could use some goat cheese instead? I’ve never tried it, but goat cheese is creamy and it has a mild taste so it might work out well.

      Or you could wait until the next time you come back to the US to visit and make it when you get here. I’d send ya some if I could…but I don’t think it would travel well!

  2. your sister-in-law February 19, 2010 at 5:29 PM

    Pam,
    You have never brought this to my house!
    If julie can’t get cream cheese she may be able to get Neufchatel cheese which is similar and can be used interchangably. Just a thought. I think cream cheese is more americano whereas neufchatel is french.
    Off topic: Just finished up Stephen King’s Under the Dome; that man is incredible, just incredible. You will like it!
    Karen
    your s-i-l
    oh, did dean get his package?

  3. boredcook February 19, 2010 at 6:48 PM

    I don’t remember if I ever brought it to your house…but I’m sure there was one holiday I have. I know I’ve made it when you guys were here for kids birthdays and such. I know this because your other two brothers love this. Especially Jeff. But, next time we come over, I will be sure to bring it.

    Forgot about Neufchatel. Good idea. But I am wondering about the goat cheese now and what that would be like. I just ate a goat cheese salad the other day and it was oh so good!

    Haven’t read Under the Dome yet, but heard about it. I’ll have to check it out. I’m in the middle of another book in a short series that I’ll be done with soon. (If not tonight).

    Yup, Dean got the package and was thrilled. Thanks! Haven’t had a chance to call you since I’ve been working all week, and tonight is my first and only night off for the next week and a half. Joy.

Leave a Reply

