Bored Cook In The Kitchen

Tried and true recipes, new twists on old favorites, and new dishes to expand my family's palate.

A Day Of Love & Racing


Today is an important day for two reasons;

1.  It’s Valentine’s Day

2.  It’s the Daytona 500

In my husbands mind, I’m pretty sure that #2 above takes the ruling over #1.  But I did wake up this morning to find this waiting on the kitchen table for me:

My daughter decided I was too old to have a stuffed animal as a gift so she confiscated it.  For the record, you are NEVER too old to receive a cuddly stuffed animal inscribed with “I Love You” on it.  But, there is no reasoning that with a 3.5 year old, so I’m not going there.

My youngest son decided the chocolate would be better eaten by him instead of me, so that too, got confiscated.  At least I got to keep the flowers. 

I spent this morning throwing together some of the noshes we would be picking on throughout the day.  Not as many as I originally planned because it turned out that it would be just us today. 

We marinated some baby back ribs yesterday and they are outside in the smoker getting tender and smokey as I write this.  I whipped up some Pico De Gallo last night before I went to bed, made my Hot Nacho Dip for this morning and baked a few cupcakes for a sweet little ending.  I’ll post those simple little recipes later on tonight. 

Here is a picture of the cupcakes my two youngest helped me with this morning.  They were from a box, so there is no recipe to share.  But they came out cute.  I would have preferred chocolate, but the bigger vote was for Vanilla Cherry.  Next time I’m not giving an option.  It’s chocolate or nothing!

Hope you are enjoying your Valentine’s Day!

5 responses to “A Day Of Love & Racing

  1. cavemancooking February 15, 2010 at 3:27 AM

    Happy V-Day, Pam! Sounds like you got overruled a lot today. Next year, you claim this day for yourself!! 😉
    Mmmmmm … RIBS!!

    • boredcook February 15, 2010 at 3:54 PM

      I never did get my chocolate fix yesterday. Darn kids! The ribs were great. The problem is I don’t have a recipe to share. My husband made up the marinade the night before and when I asked him what he made he looked at me blankly! I said, “I need to add it to my blog with a recipe. What were the ingredients and give me a ball park of how much you used of each.” He said, “I have no idea. I just kept throwing stuff into the bowl, mixed it up and poured it all over the ribs.” Good grief!

  2. your sister-in-law February 19, 2010 at 5:36 PM

    in another year or two you may end up with nothing….the flowers could be taken to give to the latest girl crush
    think on that!!!!!
    unfortunately for you, you have hit the stupid parent years that will go on and on for a very long time but the upside is grabbed flowers, stuffies(as shelby always called them) and chocolates might remain in your possession before you begin to attain “smart” status parent again
    ;<)

    • boredcook February 19, 2010 at 6:53 PM

      I’ll just take the chocolate and they can have everything else. Chocolate is all I really require to live so I’m good to go with that.

      Stupid Parent? I’ve pretty much been that since T. has turned 10, so we are going on almost 5 years now. Cause you know…I was never a teenager, I grew up in “Little House on the Prairie Days” and I just “don’t get it”. Yeah. It’s fun. Can’t wait to go through it with two more.

      • your sister-in-law February 20, 2010 at 6:12 PM

        the up side is since you truly spaced the two boys that you will at least be a “smart” parent for at least for one of your children for awhile before gaining even smarter status with the other two
        having kids close together doesn’t allow that, you are just another dumb jerk parent
        i’m still not sure if J. thinks i am smart or not…..and S. is not there, no, he will argue points until the cows come home and then some, unless of course he is in need of money and then i am the smartest person in the world until he gets the cash and then i am back to not knowing a thing. Fortunately for me with control over his weekly money i am smarter more than less or he has no money. what control money has….:<)

Leave a Reply

