Bored Cook In The Kitchen

Tried and true recipes, new twists on old favorites, and new dishes to expand my family's palate.

Game Day And Delisciousness!


So tomorrow is the “Big Day” for all the football fans.  Here is a little secret.  Other than my son, nobody in this house is a huge football fan.  I have no interest in it whatsoever, my two youngest kids could care less about it.  And my husband will watch it, but it’s not his big thing.  I’ll touch on what his big deal is in a bit.  But, even hubby will be interested in this years game because he lived in New Orléans for a while, so I know he will watch the game and exactly who he will be rooting for. 

Me?  I’ll be working and doing a double shift, so I won’t be here at all.  Which suits me just fine.  Normally I make lots of nibble food for days like tomorrow, but since I won’t be here, that won’t be happening. 

However, next week, Sunday, February 14th WILL be a big day in our house.  I would love to tell you it was because of the romance of St. Valentine’s Day and that cupids arrow would be piercing  my husbands hiney with lust and romance.  The lust part is pretty much a given no matter what day of the week, because he is a man.  Forget I just said that.  This is a PG rated site.  But as for the romance part…there will be no time for that!  Because next week is the Daytona 500 and aside from hunting and fishing, my husband lives and breaths for Nascar.   Also, I’m not working next Sunday, so I will be home to make all of those tasty little nibbles to eat.  So while other sites are busy posting all of their delicious little noshes for the big game tomorrow, I’ll save mine for next week to share with you.

Now, on to the deliciousness part of this post.  That would be these little beauties:

Oh the gooey goodness of these is outrageous!  And they are simple!  So simple even someone as scattered brained as me can make them!

I found this recipe while visiting Never Enough Thyme.  I’ve spoken before about Lana who owns that blog and how much I enjoy checking it daily.  She posted this recipe awhile back and the minute I saw it I knew I had to make it.  I did shortly after seeing it, and have made it several times since then. 

She calls them “Overnight Sweet Rolls”.  You set these up the night before with frozen bread dough, stick them in your oven (on off) overnight.  When you wake up the next morning, they are all puffed up and ready to be baked!  What could be easier!  These would be fantastic for a brunch or hectic holiday morning.  They are now in my permanent recipe book collection.

Here is the link for these little beauties at Lana’s blog.  Check it out because she gives you step by step instructions and photos, and you can see for yourself how simple they are to make. Overnight Sweet Rolls

Your thighs will hate you, but your taste buds will sing with joy!

5 responses to “Game Day And Delisciousness!

  1. Lana from Never Enough Thyme February 6, 2010 at 5:11 PM

    Hi! Your link to my sweet rolls recipe just popped up as a pingback, so I just moseyed on over here to see what was happening. Thanks a million for the link and I’m so pleased that you are enjoying that recipe. It’s one of our favs, too. But, we can only have it once in a blue moon. Too much butter and sugar, ya know?

  2. boredcook February 6, 2010 at 6:11 PM

    My kids love this recipe, as do my husband and I. My oldest son told me these taste like Cinnabon Cinnamon Buns. That’s a high compliment!

    And I know what you mean about the butter and sugar. I have to confine myself to eating ONLY one. Which is near impossible! I already wrapped half of them to bring to work with me tonight so I can have them out of my house.

  3. cavemancooking February 7, 2010 at 1:02 AM

    You’re killing me, Pam. These look like real belly busters! YUMMMMMM!!

    • boredcook February 7, 2010 at 1:47 PM

      Don’t worry, Caveman! I just found out that these rolls are “Low in Fat”. I brought them to work with me, with several copies of the recipe because I knew people would ask for them (and they did). It was then that I realized that the recipe called for 1 stick of butter but when I made them I only used 1/2 stick of butter. So that’s low-cal to me! LOL

  4. Tana March 11, 2010 at 6:37 AM

    I found you! I am still learning how to get from one page to another! I am definitely sharing your BLOG with my house lady Joyce, as she rules our kitchen, lol… She will love your recipes! Hey maybe I could share with you some Kenyan BUSH recipes at some point! It is amazing what people can create in the middle of nowhere over a burning camp fire. xxx

Leave a Reply

