Bored Cook In The Kitchen

Tried and true recipes, new twists on old favorites, and new dishes to expand my family's palate.

I never win anything!


I don’t.  It’s true.  My husband buys those little scratch off lottery tickets and will win money left and right.  Of course it’s never the huge amount, but still, he usually manages to break even.  Me?  Nothing.

So imagine my surprise, and delight, when a fellow blogger notified me that he was giving me a little award of my very own.  I was happy and excited.  Because…I never win anything!  Did I say that before?  It needs repeating.

I found Caveman Cooking as I was beginning the process of starting my blog.  There were several blogs I visited frequently, which gave me the interest to start my own.  I found his blog one day by accident and have been hooked to visiting it daily (sometimes several times in a day).  He has a down-to-earth personality which comes through in his blog posts, and I enjoyed reading about the food he was making and the caring way he speaks about his family.   So thanks to Mr. Caveman for this very appreciated award.

And now, I’m scared.  Apparently, after receiving this award there are two things I am expected to do.  First; list ten things about myself you may not know about me.  Second; award this to ten other blogger folks I know.

The first, is no problem.  A little scary to list those ten things, but I can do it.   The second criteria is the hard part.  I don’t really know ten bloggers to pass this award to.  I know a few, and those are the ones I will pass it on to because I visit their blogs regularly, and because I think they deserve it.  But, as for the other blogs I visit…they don’t know me from a hole in the wall, and I don’t visit them enough to know them either.   So I can only come up with four bloggers, now, that I can hand this down to.  The other six will have to come at a later time.  (Do I not qualify for this now?)  I don’t know!  But still, I’m taking it.  So here are my four:

1. bl.g + Serendipity + JBulie’s Blog   That sweet, motivational American living in Italy.  Check her out if you need something to lift up your day.

2. Never Enough Thyme  The woman Lana who runs this blog knows nothing about me, but I fell in love with her blog the moment I found it in a link from another recipe site. 

3. Souffle Bombay  One of the first blogs I added to my blog roll.  And someone who gave me some tips and assistance on another recipe site I frequent.  She reminds me of someone I would have hung out with in high school.

4. Dooce  Definitely not someone afraid to be honest.  And there is always room for a laugh or two when you read her daily musings.

So now I need to add my ten things you probably don’t  know about me.  I’ll start with my younger years and work my way up.

1.  Once when I was about 8 years old, my friend and I each took a fake ring from a department store.  We stuck it on our fingers and then left the store with it.  I got home that night and immediately took it off and hid it in my room.  I was never able to wear it because I had so much guilt over stealing it.  I told my friend we had to take it back the next time we went to the store.  A few weeks later my mother took me to the store with her when she was going shopping.  The problem was my friend couldn’t go with us.  I took the ring, stuck it in my pocket and off we went.  The minute we got in that store, I stuck the ring in the first available spot I could find without being seen.  I think that was the first night in weeks I had a peaceful sleep.  Point being, don’t call me to drive your get away car for you.  Trust me, you will be arrested.

2.  In my Junior year of high school, my friend and I cheated on a test we didn’t study for.  We got caught.  This was a teacher I was very close with, even outside of school.  When she confronted us she told me how disappointed and shocked she was that I would do something like that.  The crippling words were, “I would never have expected this from you, Pam.”  I immediately burst out crying.   A year later when I graduated she wrote in my yearbook how much she enjoyed having me as a student and to please keep in touch.  She then hugged me and told me that now she could laugh at my botched cheating attempt.  Especially since I cheated with all the wrong answers.  My soul was happy once again.

3.  I grew up in a strict Catholic family.  When Sunday mornings came, you went to church.  End of story.  Once my brother and I were older, and he was driving, we would go by ourselves to a later mass so we could sleep in a little later.  One Sunday we just didn’t feel like going to mass, so instead we went out to breakfast.  We only did it once, but since that day I’m convinced that when I get to those pearly gates they are going to take one look at me and say, “Nope.  Sorry…move to the left you, heathen.”

4.  When nobody is home during the day, I sometimes turn the music up and sing at the top of my lungs.  I can’t sing to save my life.  My family knows this and begs me NOT to sing when I attempt to.

5.  I talk to myself all the time.  I’ve never gotten an answer back…yet.  But I have had some pretty stimulating conversations.

6.  I have an ugly right toenail.  I damaged the nail bed a long time ago, and then after an injury to that leg and foot, my nail now grows in crooked and deformed.  I don’t show anyone my toe, unless I absolutely have to, or to my children because I like to watch them freak out when I do.

7.  Five years ago this month, I fell off my front porch and broke my right leg.  I had surgery, they put in a metal rod and some screws and pins.  The second step on our front porch had a big chip out of it.  I told my husband for years to fix the step before someone fell and broke their neck.  While I was in the ER waiting to be admitted to go into surgery my husband commented about how he should have fixed that step.  I didn’t say a word.  Shortly after my leg breaking episode he fixed the step.  I never did tell him that the step I fell off was the one above the broken step.  Great, now I have guilt.

8.  After the birth of my first son I went through the worst depression.  It lasted for months and I never told anyone what I was feeling.  I was afraid people would think I was crazy, so I shut my mouth and kept it in.  After I had my second son I was afraid the same thing would happen.  It didn’t.  And it didn’t happen after having my daughter either.  I figure with each child I had, I lost a few more brain cells so my mind wasn’t talented or smart enough to work it’s way into a depression anymore.

9.  I hate eggs in their natural state.  I gag when someone eats a runny gooey egg, and almost puked once in a diner (had to run to the bathroom and everything) when my son cracked open the yolk of his egg with the corner of his toast.

10.  This year has been a very tough year for my husband and I.  We hit lows we had never experienced before.  By the grace of God, and a very supportive family, we are finally starting to see the light at the end of the tunnel.  It’s a dim light, but it is starting to grow.

And there you have it.  The ramblings and confessions of a lunatic woman.

8 responses to “I never win anything!

  1. http://www.jangelos.wordpress.com January 22, 2010 at 10:46 AM

    Posted under ‘Rama-Lama-Ramblings. That just cracks me up. Pam, I’m so honored at this moment! I’m smiling from ear to ear. I have to congratulate you for 2 new recipes that did not contain potatoes. And secondly for a great new look. I like it. I try daily to make my blog a little bit better. Some days it’s better, some worse, but none-the-less it’s steadily growing.

    I liked this post because it was revealing, funny and honest. I think the more we open up about our selves the more we give, the more we are made better people. I think it is great that you are following your dreams. It wont be long until you have your first book deal. I know it.

    And super super thanks for listing me as sweet AND motivational. My husband has always claimed I was sweet. My sister, NO.

    Let’s go to get some rings. What a laugh. I am sure I had similar experiences but I don’t think I’m brave enough to write about them.

    And finally when kids are little I think it’s the toughest times that any mom goes through. I read about what it would be like to be a mom but nothing prepared me for the challenge. It gets easier. It’s a wonder and a blessing I’m not sure I deserve. Don’t they have competency exams before handing out kids? They should.

    Happy blogging and keep up the good work. I’m going to go check out your other blog friends. Thanks for the links.

    Julie

  2. cavemancooking January 24, 2010 at 4:17 AM

    Pam, first of all, thank you for your kind words. I’m so glad we have come to enjoy each other’s cyber-company.
    And, thanks for letting me know not to give you sandals or make you eggs benedict! 😉

  3. Souffle Bombay January 25, 2010 at 8:28 PM

    Heeeeey!!! What a surprise!!! Thanks so much and right back at you!!
    I also know Caveman cooking and think he is cool…small world here in the cyber universe 🙂

    BTW saw your most recent post – geez a lot of that going around…either a better plan awaits you guys…your know fate giving the old pointed finger down an unexpected road which ends up being better OOOOR …you take the bull by the horns and tap into an unrealized dream, passion…whatever and become bazillionaires. Best wishes.

    Now you know me…not a tech bone in my body…have nooo idea how to get that there badge on my site lol!!

    Hang in there 🙂

    Colleen

    • boredcook January 26, 2010 at 1:12 PM

      Colleen, I’m going to make you feel really good right now about the tech stuff. See those links I put in my post for everyones blog? I won’t tell you the huge and embarassing amount of time it took me to figure out how to do it right. Even with the directions for it right in front of me on the page. So please, don’t feel bad.

  4. Lana from Never Enough Thyme January 31, 2010 at 5:33 PM

    Hi there! I noticed I had a linkback on my blog from your URL, so I can on over to check it out. All I can say is, “Wow!” Thanks for the compliment and I’m so glad you enjoy my little blog. Nothing makes my happier than to know that someone enjoys the recipes I post. Keeping visiting and I’ll do the same!

    • boredcook January 31, 2010 at 6:38 PM

      You are more than welcome, Lana. I love visiting your site, and do it almost daily. I think you and I would find a lot of similiarities in likes of food if we were cooking together.

Leave a Reply

