Bored Cook In The Kitchen

Tried and true recipes, new twists on old favorites, and new dishes to expand my family's palate.

I never know when to shut my mouth!


Last night I had a meeting to attend and saw some friends I had not seen in a while.  They immediately asked how things were going. 

Mistake #1:  I answered and said, “Better.  Things are starting to look up.”

Mistake #2:  Last night I posted on this blog that the difficult time my husband and I have been through this past year was finally starting to show “some light at the end of the tunnel.”

Why were these mistakes?  

Because a little voice whispered in my ear last night after I made these statements.  That little voice that makes you kind of cringe and think, did I just jinx myself by saying that?  I won’t make that mistake again.

This evening my husband returned home from work to tell me he and several others were all laid off from work due to “downsizing and budget constraints.”

Happy 2010 Pam! 

From now on, when anyone asks me how things are, even if they are fantastic.  Even if they are great.  Even if I have just won 1 million dollars in the lottery, my response will be;

“Everything sucks s***.  And, you?”

Whatever.  That’s all I have to say this evening.

5 responses to “I never know when to shut my mouth!

  1. http://www.jangelos.wordpress.com January 23, 2010 at 9:14 AM

    You are going to have good days and bad days. This was just a bad day. Keep smiling.

  2. cavemancooking January 24, 2010 at 4:21 AM

    So sorry about you hubby’s layoff. I know how much of a bummer that is.
    While i don’t think that you actually jinxed yourself, there is something to be said about having a “glass is half empty” attitude. Ben Franklin once said that he was an eternal pessimist so that when something good happened he would be pleasantly surprised! 😉

    • boredcook January 25, 2010 at 5:24 PM

      I remember a lot of things my grandfather said to me. One thing I remember specifically was, “It’s better to expect the worst so when something better happens you don’t feel disappointed.”

      So it rings true with what you say. I still wish I had listened to that little voice whispering in my ear though. Problem is, it didn’t start whispering until after I had already spoken. LOL

  3. http://www.jangelos.wordpress.com January 27, 2010 at 3:47 PM

    You can always edit! : ) I read recently and I love this:
    Thoughts are words, words are actions, actions are character and something else. I’m too tired to remember the rest but you get it, you are the writer! Re write!
    Julie

Leave a Reply

