Bored Cook In The Kitchen

Tried and true recipes, new twists on old favorites, and new dishes to expand my family's palate.

Roasted Potatoes


 

I meant to post this recipe earlier in the week, but of course added it to my “list of things to get done”, which was a sure-fire way to make sure I didn’t get it done. 

This is one of my most favorite ways to eat potatoes.  And it’s super easy and quick, so that is the bonus. 

First scrub some potatoes and leave the skins on.  Then chunk them up evenly and toss them in a large mixing bowl with some olive oil, salt, pepper, and just about any other seasonings you want to add. 

After you get them all evenly coated with the olive oil and seasonings, lay them out in an even layer on a baking sheet and pop them in a 400 degree oven.

You want to cook these for about 40 to 45 minutes, turning them once with a thin, metal spatula halfway through the cooking time.  You should get a nice crust on the bottom of these, so that spatula will do the trick of making sure you keep that crust on them.  Sprinkle them with some freshly chopped parsley and enjoy.  They are perfectly delicious, and very versatile.  You can add to them whatever you like.

ROASTED POTATOES:

Serves 4

  • 3 – 4 Large Baking Potatoes with the skin
  • Salt and Freshly Ground Black Pepper to taste (I used Seasoned Salt)
  • 2 -3 Tablespoons Olive Oil
  • 1 tsp. Garlic Powder
  • 1 tsp. Onion Powder
  • Chopped Fresh Parsley

Pre-heat the oven to 400 degrees.

Scrub the potatoes clean and leave the skins on.  Cube them up into equal sized pieces and dump them in a mixing bowl.

Add your olive oil and dried spices and mix well.  Dump them out on to a baking sheet in an even layer and place in the oven.

After about 20 minutes, remove from the oven and using a thin metal spatula, flip them over.  Return to the oven and bake for another 20 to 25 minutes until golden brown.  Sprinkle with the chopped fresh parsley and serve immediately.

I don’t like adding chopped fresh garlic to the potatoes before baking them because it tends to burn on the baking sheet.  What I will do sometimes is roast a head of garlic along with the potatoes and then squeeze out the garlic and smear it around on the cutting board with some salt and pepper.  Then stir it into the potatoes just before serving.

3 responses to “Roasted Potatoes

  1. http://www.jangelos.wordpress.com January 19, 2010 at 7:39 AM

    Great idea with the garlic at the end. I like that. THIS IS JUST LIKE MY HUSBAND’S and I tell you it is an all time household favorite. I think I could live off of this dish. We use fresh rosemary that is also delicious.

    Well done Pam. I’d like a funny story with this too – like remember the time your dog ate it? Have you guys finished the 50 pounds of potatoes in your garage? I tell you Pam ah lah, the way you write makes me think even I could do this. Hmmm.

    Julie

  2. boredcook January 19, 2010 at 9:32 AM

    I love fresh rosemary in this as well. Problem is, we have none right now. My husband brought in my rosemary plant from outside at the end of the summer and it was doing well, but about 2 months ago it decided to give up and die on me. A little fresh thyme is really good as well.

    Nothing funny to share about these potatoes. I don’t have a dog (but we do have a cat and he doesn’t eat potatoes).

    We’ve made a good dent in the potatoes, but still have a little less than half of them left. I also made another potatoe dish the other day, just need to post it. It was a personal favorite of my oldest sons.

  3. cavemancooking January 20, 2010 at 3:18 PM

    Nice dice, Pam! They look great!!
    BTW, congrats are in order … you have received the Honest Award! Check it out here: http://cavemancooking.wordpress.com/chit-chat/honest-award

Leave a Reply

