Bored Cook In The Kitchen

Tried and true recipes, new twists on old favorites, and new dishes to expand my family's palate.

Are you a “Coupon Clipper?”


Note:  This is not a food post.  Nor does this post contain a recipe.  It is why I have chosen to post it in my “Rama-Lama-Ramblings” category, versus the cooking/baking categories. 

I can’t say I am a die-hard coupon clipper, but I have been known to go through the Sunday paper and clip a few coupons for items I normally buy.   But the folks over at Kimberly-Clark have put a whole new twist on clipping coupons. 

Know what this is?

Here let me show you;

It’s a little coupon booklet that folds open with three coupons for three different Kimberly-Clark products. 

And those crafty people over at Kimberly-Clark are trying to get more people to multi task.  How so you ask?  Well, if you noticed in the first picture, there is a good amount of toilet paper stuck to the outside of the coupon booklet.  Know why?  Because it was imbedded INTO the roll of toilet paper.  So imagine my surprise when- after drinking several glasses of iced tea the other day – I had to rush to the bathroom to “tinkle.”  (Sorry if that offended you.  I could have used a more crude term, but I was trying to be polite.)  I had just put a new roll of toilet paper in the holder, spun it out like I was playing Wheel of Fortune, and suddenly felt something hard and sharp in the toilet paper.  What could it be?  Did I win something?  Was I, like, the 1,000,000 person to spin out the toilet paper roll to win a years supply of laxatives or something?

I quickly looked and saw that it was a little coupon booklet.   How convenient of those folks to save me some time.  Now I could not only go to the bathroom, but make out my shopping list and clip coupons at the same time.   Talk about multi tasking for a busy mom!

There are a few things wrong with this little ingenious idea these folks came up with.  I’ll only touch on two of them.

1.  What if I were a blind person and had no idea this coupon booklet was imbedded into my toilet paper.  What if after “finishing my business” I just whipped out the paper and used it.  Can you imagine the paper cut this could have caused??

2.  Wouldn’t you hate to be the person at the check-out counter who has to take one of these coupons that a shopper hands over to you?  I mean, being the germaphobe that I am, I can’t imagine having to touch a coupon someone  “clipped” out of their toilet paper while they were using the facilities! Eeeww.

But the real kicker in this whole ordeal was that the coupons are not even for products I use!  I almost injured myself and caused a staph infection for pretty much nothing!  Not even a savings of .75!

The first one was for their paper towels.  Of no use to me since I use Bounty paper towels.

The second was for Scott Extra Soft toilet tissue.  No use for me either since I’m a real woman and can take the “Non-Soft”, original version of Scott toilet tissue 1,000 one-ply sheets.

And the last coupon was for Scott’s moist and flushable wipes.  Don’t use these either and quite frankly now I would be scared to.  What little surprises could they possibly have hidden in between those wipe sheets.   Plastic packets of hand sanitizer?

So I thought to myself, maybe I should write a letter to Kimberly-Clark and tell them what a stupid idea their little coupon placement was.  When I looked on the back of the package here is what I found:

First, they are quick to warn us that we should not allow young children to get a hold of the plastic their toilet paper is wrapped in because it’s a suffocation danger.  True, and good point. 

Maybe they should add the warning under that about “sharp and pointy” objects possibly being found in the middle of their toilet paper roll.  And also, maybe they should also put this notation in braille so that someone who is possibly blind would know the dangers involved with “tinkling.”

They have a little community over at their website for Common Sense tips and Time Saving Solutions.  Maybe I will just head on over and give them these two little gems of information. 

Time Saving Tip #1:  Stick a sharp, rectangular piece of folded paper into the middle of your toilet paper roll so that people can not only wipe, but coupon clip at the same time!

Common Sense Tip #1:  Don’t stick a sharp, rectangular piece of folded paper coupon into the middle of your toilet paper roll so that people can get a nasty whopper of a paper cut and possibly contact a staph infection.

Next up…”Laxatives and the race to the bathroom for that 1,000 one ply sheet of toilet paper.”

Disclaimer:   Scott Toilet Paper is a registered trademark of Kimberly-Clark, who in no way is providing me with any monetary value for  this post.  Kimberly-Clark has a fantastic product I will continue to buy, even without the necessary coupons for their “exact” product that I purchase.  This post in no way is to influence people not to use Scott toilet paper.  It is intended to advise people of the spectacular coupon savings they can receive when they take a little bathroom break.

8 responses to “Are you a “Coupon Clipper?”

  1. bridget {bake at 350} January 6, 2010 at 7:36 PM

    Just finding your blog…SO, so funny! You need to be a part of their marketing team. 🙂

  2. boredcook January 6, 2010 at 9:36 PM

    Thanks for visiting Bridget. Can you imagine me handing this to the checkout person with the toilet paper still attached, like it is in that first picture? LOL

    Pam

  3. Souffle Bombay January 7, 2010 at 9:07 AM

    HA!! Lucky it wasn’t after a few glasses of wine 🙂

  4. cavemancooking January 8, 2010 at 1:31 AM

    Men … I suggest NOT clipping the coupons while on the throne! 😆
    Great post, Pam!

  5. http://www.jangelos.wordpress.com January 8, 2010 at 10:10 AM

    Every time I visit your site I smile the entire time I read it. I loved the category called rama lama ramblings. Now there’s a category I should have.

    I just wish I were a better cook. Still reading and learning from you though! Thanks. Great post. So so funny. I’ll be more careful when open too tight and dangerously wrapped ‘soft’ (yeah right!) products.

    • boredcook January 8, 2010 at 12:03 PM

      Julie anyone can cook. Trust me, if I can put something presentable on the table, so can you. I’m not fabulous at it. I’m just an everyday mom cooking dinner for her family and interested in trying new recipes.

      Glad this post made you smile.

Leave a Reply

