Bored Cook In The Kitchen

Tried and true recipes, new twists on old favorites, and new dishes to expand my family's palate.

Happy New Year!


What exciting, fun-filled, intoxicating events do you have planned for this evening? 

We are staying home.  Just where I want to be.  Work called me earlier to ask if I could come in tonight (I work the overnight shift).   I won’t tell you how hard I laughed after I hung up the phone with them, but the answer was a firm, NO! (Nicely said though, I don’t want to be fired for being insubordinate!)

The hubby just got home with a huge pan of hot wings he picked up at a restaurant that makes them over the top good.  I will make up a few small things to pick on and that’s about it! 

I did rent three movies yesterday so that after the kids are in bed hubby and I can curl up on the couch, enjoy a toasty fire, and watch them.  Of course, they are all “chick flicks” and nothing gory or manly.  But since I went out to rent them, I figure I get to choose!  Plus, I’m still making him pay for making me sit through The Hunt for Red October almost twenty years ago when we were still dating.   That movie almost killed me from the boredom!

What did I get you ask? 

Julie and Julia

I have a feeling that one is going to make me hungry!

My Sisters Keeper

I have a feeling that one will make me cry!

Bride Wars

I “hope” this one will make me laugh!

I may try to get myself intoxicated while I curl up on the couch, but knowing me I’ll be asleep before my second sip of champagne.

Hope you enjoy a safe and Happy New Year!

2 responses to “Happy New Year!

  1. cavemancooking January 3, 2010 at 11:37 PM

    Your hubby has great taste! I LOVE “The Hunt For Red October”!! lol

  2. boredcook January 4, 2010 at 9:10 AM

    Why does that not surprise me, Caveman? Any time I have said how much I hate the movie The Hunt for Red October, every male within hearing distance has told me, “I LOVE THAT MOVIE!” LOL

Leave a Reply

