Bored Cook In The Kitchen

Tried and true recipes, new twists on old favorites, and new dishes to expand my family's palate.

Christmas Dinner


How was your Christmas dinner?  We had a great one.  No recipes to share this morning, just a few highlights from what we ate.

This first dish captivated my attention all day long before we sat down to eat.  I saw it sitting and covered, and I couldn’t stop coming back to it, tempted to lift the cling wrap and steal a piece.  I was good though and kept my hands to myself, until dinner.   I ate several helpings of this.  Something so simple – string beans, grape tomatoes and fresh mozarella – but addictive to keep picking at! 

My brother-in-law and his wife brought this dish.  Filet of Sole stuffed with crabmeat.  Another dish I looked at all day and couldn’t wait to try.  And it was worth the wait.  Isn’t anything stuffed with crab worth waiting for?  Don’t have the recipe for this one, but I will.  Soon.  I won’t tell you that I ate two and a half servings of this.   Sorry, but you can’t put something containing crab in front of me and expect me to refrain!

A colorful salad.  I want you to know now I cut each and every olive myself.  Why would I do all that tedious work when they sell sliced olives you ask?  I could say it was because they had none at the store.  But, that would be a lie.  They did have them and I even picked them up and put them in my cart.  Then I went back and put them back on the shelf and picked up the whole olives.  Why?  I don’t know.  I was in a daze, it was Christmas Eve and the store was crowded.  It was one of those shopping experiences where you walk up and down the aisles trying to remember what it was you came to the store for in the first place.  Don’t you love salad?  I could live on it.

One of my most favorite veggies ever; asparagus.  These were roasted, and totally delicious!  I could have eaten half the dish of them myself!

More deliciousness.  Prime rib with a horseradish sauce to go along with it.  Cooked to perfection and super tender.  My brother-in-law was slicing this.  When I came up with the camera to take a picture and told him it was for the blog he immediately said;

“Wait!  Let me get the right fork first.”  Do you think blogging makes people nervous?  Not to worry, Jan.  I’m pretty sure Bon Appetit magazine ain’t reading my blog, so the “Use-of-Proper-Fork-Police” won’t be coming to haul you away.

We had some other dishes as well, but these were some of my favorites.    Too bad I didn’t get a shot of the mashed potatoes we made.   They came out good, but my husband took over making them while I was busy getting ready yesterday morning.  After I finished getting dressed I came out and saw them all made and in the pan and they looked great.  Then I looked a little closer and said; “Where did you get the fresh parsley from?”  I had fresh parsley, but used it up a week ago.  He hadn’t gone to the store, and our garden has long been dead, so I couldn’t figure where he got it from. 

“It was in the fridge in the mason jar,” he responded.

“Ummm…no” I said.  “The mason jar in the fridge has fresh CILANTRO in it.”

“Oh.  Then its fresh cilantro and not parsley.”

That’s when I got nervous.  See my husband can cook.  But sometimes he over seasons, changes a recipe too much, or like he did on Christmas, adds an ingredient that really has no place in the dish.  Let me just say now that Cilantro and mashed potatoes don’t go together.  Cilantro and potatoes in other dishes…sure, they could work.  Mixed with mashed potatoes, not so much.  But it did look pretty.  And luckily, I was able to pick off the Cilantro before it really seeped into those taters.

All in all, dinner was delicious.  The day came and went, my children have more toys right now than Toys R’ Us and my house looks like a bomb went off in it.  I can’t even find the living room floor.  And I have no energy to pick it all up.  I could try making my kids do all the work, but they are ignoring me and are too absorbed in all the loot they gathered yesterday.

Hope you all had a Merry Christmas!

6 responses to “Christmas Dinner

  1. You make me smile. December 26, 2009 at 6:55 PM

    Yummy again! Looks fab fabulous. We had hand rolled tortellini from the kid’s grandma. She’s a maniac in the kitchen. She cooks for 200 when there were five of us. Then there were a bunch and I mean a bunch of side dishes which included mashed potatoes, sliced meat roll cooked in wine for two hours, quiche, sauces, cauliflower and pumpkin tortellini. Did you read about her mishap? Seems the nonna forgot to plug in her freezer in her cantina where she stores all the good stuff. We had to take home about eight plates of goodies including eggplant parmesan. Dessert was cheesecake and chocolate cake. Merry Christmas my friend and happy new year.

  2. boredcook December 26, 2009 at 9:23 PM

    Sounds like Nonna’s mishap was everyone else good luck! I would have been happy to bring home the goodies!

    We had chocolate cake also. Minus the frosting because I forgot it. I could go for it now!

    Merry Christmas to you as well!

  3. cavemancooking December 28, 2009 at 5:04 AM

    Sounds, and looks, like a great Holiday feast, Pam. That stuffed Sole looks incredible, and anything with fresh mozzarella is fine by me.
    You’re lucky, though. We had to haul all the kids gifts back from Grandma & Grandpa’s house. Now, the fun of “Adult Assembly Required” begins! 😉

    • boredcook December 28, 2009 at 4:50 PM

      The stuffed Sole was good. I can’t wait to get the recipe and try my hand at it myself. Whenever I order fish when we go out to eat, that is normally what I order.

      We didn’t get off easy on the assembly part,trust me. Well, I got off easy since my husband does it. But my daughters doll house took awhile, and the million sets of Lego my youngest son go. (Truthfully I think my husband likes the Lego part!)

  4. Souffle Bombay December 28, 2009 at 8:21 AM

    Looks like you had a wonderful Christmas dinner!!
    Those asparagus were on my table as well 🙂
    Happy New Year!!

Leave a Reply

