Bored Cook In The Kitchen

Tried and true recipes, new twists on old favorites, and new dishes to expand my family's palate.

Chocolate Almond Biscotti


I LOVE Biscotti.  And when I eat it I always think about my grandfather.  I remember how he would dip his Stella Doro Biscotti into his coffee.   Back then I was not a lover of this crunchy cookie, but I don’t think they were as popular or as decadent as they are today.  I could be wrong though, since I was just a little kid and had no love for coffee, or cookies that were not a soft and chewy choclate chip.  The only Biscotti I ever remember seeing back then was one flavor:  Anise.  Now they have all different types of flavors, filled with different types of nuts and then dipped in all kinds of chocolate. 

But my most favorite Biscotti is chocolate with almonds.  Not that I would turn down anything dipped in chocolate.  (Trust me: It would never happen) .  But in this instance, for me anyway, simple is better.  Chocolate and almonds being dipped into my coffee:  Absolutely delicious. 

Someone gave me this recipe awhile back and I had never made them.  I came across it last week and decided to finally go ahead and try them out.  I was pleasantly surprised.  Not only were they delicious, but super easy to make.  

CHOCOLATE ALMOND BISCOTTI

  • 1 Stick Unsalted Butter, softened
  • 1 1/4 Cups Sugar
  • 2 Eggs
  • 1 tsp. Pure Almond Extract
  • 2 1/4 Cups Flour
  • 1/2 Cup Dutch Processed Cocoa
  • 1 tsp. Baking Powder
  • 1/4 tsp. Salt
  • 1 Cup Slivered Almonds

Makes about 16 to 18 Biscotti

Heat oven to 350 degrees.  Beat softened butter and sugar until well blended. Add in the eggs and almond extract and beat well.  In a separate bowl, stir the flour, baking powder, cocoa and salt, and add in small increments to butter and sugar mixture, blending well after each addition until smooth.  Once blended the dough will be thick but not overly sticky.  Stir in the almonds. 

Separate the dough into two equal parts.  Begin forming your first piece of dough on an ungreased cookie sheet. Mold and shape the dough with your hands into a 10 inch long roll.  Do the same with the other section of dough and keep each roll about 4 inches apart on the cookie sheet.

Place in the oven and bake for 30 minutes.  Remove from the oven and allow them to cool for 10 to 15 minutes.  Here is the trickiest part about this recipe – removing them from the cookie sheet.  The easiest way I found to do this was to take my off-set spatula and glide it slowly along the bottom of each piece of dough to loosen it from the sheet.  It was easy enough to do, but you MUST be cautious while doing it that you don’t disturb the underside of the dough.  Once I had it loosened I just slid them on to a cutting board.  You will want to do the sliding very slowly as well or your large cookie is going to break.

Using a serrated knife, – I found a steak knife worked best – use a sawing motion and cut each individual biscotti in 3/4 inch wide pieces.  After they are all cut, return them cut side down to the baking sheet and place them back into the oven to bake for 12 to 15 minutes.  Take them out, turn them over and bake on the other side for another 12 to 15 minutes.  These are not soft middle cookies here, folks.  You want them crisp and crunchy.

Once they are done, take them out to cool on a wire rack.  DO NOT make a pot of coffee while you are baking these because you may end up eating an obscene amount of them while waiting for the rest of them to cool.  Not that I would know about that…I’m just sayin’!  Store in an airtight container for up to a week.

These are light, crunchy,  and delicious!  Even my youngest son, who hates nuts and cries when I put them in cookies or brownies, ate a handful of these!  That’s how good they are! 

Note:  In my picture you can see the almonds I used were sliced although the recipe calls for slivered.  Sliced was all I had on hand the day I baked these, and they worked out well.  Since I’m a lover of big crunchy nuts I do plan on using the slivered next time I make these.  Even whole almonds would be great!

2 responses to “Chocolate Almond Biscotti

  1. your sister-in-law December 13, 2009 at 3:08 PM

    So Pam, I spent thousands of dollars to go to Italy and attend a cooking school so that I could learn to make biscotti and you already knew how?!?!

    We could’ve saved alot of money by having you visit for a weekend of cooking…..

    And Mom has been dying to get her hands on a recipe. Maybe that is a good Christmas gift…a chocolate biscotti-making afternoon with her before she heads south;<)

  2. boredcook December 15, 2009 at 7:15 AM

    I’m always up for a weekend of cooking! I hadn’t made these when you guys went to Italy, so couldn’t have helped. I have a few other recipes for biscotti I want to try. And I need some practice in slicing them.

    I’m stealing your mom this coming weekend for a pinwheel cooking demonstration. Maybe we can try some biscotti if we have the time.

Leave a Reply

